We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Salem Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Flora' s Northey Street Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Salem, Mass. The house is decorated beautifully, is very comfortable and located only a short walk to most Salem historical sights.
The breakfast was outstanding, with various cheeses, breads, muffins, fruit and hot drinks. One went away from the breakfast full.
The deck is a great place to relax after a long day siteseeing.
This was our first experience at a B & B, and I would highly recomend this B & B for all who are visiting Salem.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank Adkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 794 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2007

Flora provides a wonderful and friendly place to enjoy and explore Salem. The rooms are large and decorated beautifully and she provides many extra little touches that quietly say welcome. Location is but a short walk to the Commons and all the attractions. Flora's breakfast are outstanding(she does your eggs to your request) and Charlie is a nice and well behaved pet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KansaninMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

This was our first Bed & Breakfast stay, and we could not have found a nicer place. We stayed in the 2 room suite, and it is absolutely beautiful! Thank you so much!

Kathy and Norm

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NormChicopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We had a lovely experience at the Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast. My husband and I stayed in the Woodbury Room on the first floor with our 12 year old daughter. There was plenty of room for the three of us. Comfortable beds, a nice shower, and large windows on two sides give the room a modern, open feel. Flora's breakfasts were great. We had warm berry cobblers and corn muffins with delicious fresh fruit cups. She made my husband eggs. The on site parking was also a plus since most of the attractions in Salem are within walking distance. The train station for travel into Boston is right down the street. Great location, perfect hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lolackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed at the Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast only one night, alas. We stayed in the Woodbury Room which was probably one of the original parlors of this maginificently restored early 19th century home. Beautiful fireplace, high ceilings with gorgeous moldings and very spacious. The house is on a quiet residential side street, so there is no street noise to speak of. Very restful.

The host family provides lots of little amenities: Lavender bath wash, shampoo and conditioner, cable TV, very good acoustic radio, candles on the mantelpiece, lots of reading material, free sodas, coffee, tea and chips, etc.

The breakfast is taken in the large old kitchen that has been updated. It overlooks a lovely deck. Unfortunately, it was too cold for us to eat outside. Home-made raisin scones and terrifc coffee, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, muffins and plenty of good company.

Importantly, the B & B has on-site parking - a necessity in this crowded, beautiful New England town.

Absolutely go and enjoy the Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aggada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Stayed here for two nights based on recommendations from Trip Advisor - it was actually one of the few B&B's open at this time of year. The room was comfortable and spacious and the breakfasts were great. The location was good for walking into Salem and the owner was very friendly and even provided free passes to the local museum. I would definitely recommend this to anyone as it was great value.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kkkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

As stated in these reviews the Northey Street B & B is well located, and close to all that Salem has to offer even after a major snow storm. Thanks to Flora, Jeff and Charlie for making my stay so pleasant. Great conversation and great breakfast. Flora even invited me for dinner on my arrival, which I greatly appreciated given the snow storm raging outside - thanks....In addition to the Peabody, Essex Museum, I would recommend a tour of the Derby and Narbonne houses. Tickets are purchased at the National Parks office on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beagleloverSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,992 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.3 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#5 of 9 in Salem
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 30 Northey St, Salem, MA 01970-3905
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $100 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House b&b
Northey Street House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing