We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a "SPECTACULAR" review that is long over due...... :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The experience was memorable. The hostess, she was incredible. The time spent in Salem at Halloween, now that was UNFORGETTABLE! My wife, youngest son and I were granted a most remarkable experience staying at Northey Street House.
We weathered the super storm “Sandy” the week we stayed. The weather did not put a damper on the ghostly festivities nor take away from our B&B experience.
Flora could not have been more helpful, attentive or just plain friendly. We were made to feel at ease and at home. The Woodbury room was clean, comfortable and relaxing. Truth be told, she is a fabulous baker as well as breakfast chef as the mornings entree presented was delicious. If she can accommodate you in any way (directions, restaurants, museums, and points of interest) all you have to do is ask.
The location was a ten minute walk from everything. Just far enough off the beaten path for privacy. How about just around the Common and up the street. You get a great feel for the neighborhood as you venture out into Salem.
Truly remarkable.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewEnglandTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Wow, thank you so very much for the "SPECTACULAR" review!!! You really put a big smile on my heart when I read your review. It means much that you all had a great memorable Halloween experience. Salem is such a fun and lively place all year round, but particularly throughout the month of October. I do love to bake and am glad guests & even kids like your son enjoy my offerings. Salem is a great walking town. You definitely see more that way. I do hope you and yours were the lucky ones in the super Sandy storm as we were here in Salem. Wishing you all the best for the new year.

Shalom,
Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 796 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ventured to the northeast from our Florida waterfront condo in January of all months! Even though the temperatures were registering well below the freezing point we were all comfy and warm at the Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast. Our hostess, Flora, made sure we had all the comforts of home and fed us an outstanding breakfast each morning, even inviting our daughter (who lives locally) to join us for the morning feast. Each morning there was a new breakfast treat along with all the other favorites if you have a "standard" breakfast from which you won't deviate.
Salem is a very nice, well-organized city with plenty to do even after their busy season for the witch festivities; September through November. You WILL have ALL the comforts of home. We will most certainly reserve a spot at the Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast the next time we visit Salem, MA.

Room Tip: Book your reservation early. There are many other B & Bs in Salem but none quite as nice as Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hello there, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. I'm so glad you found it "comfy & warm" here at the Northey House in the middle of Winter, especially since you live in FL. We really appreciate your kind words on our breakfasts. We do our best to provide a hearty breakfast that'll get your day started right. We look forward to your next visit with your daughter and hope she will be able to join us then, perhaps in warmer weather. Until then, we wish you the very best.

Shalom,
Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My son and I stayed at Northey for two nights. We had a great experience. The room was huge and very comfortable. The breakfasts were among the best that I have ever had at B&B's. The B&B owner, Flora, was very nice and accommodating; she gave us some excellent advice on what to see and where to eat. We also really enjoyed the other folks who were staying at Northey. I would recommend Northey very, very highly.

Michael E.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and the room (the only room on the floor) was excellent! Lots of light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited in the fall, and loved the house, room, breakfast and the hostess! The room was incredibly comfortable as was the bed. The hostess was very accommodating and made some excellent suggestions for restaurants for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was so much fun.
My girlfriend and I loved the town, the nice people and of course the wonderful B&B.
Most amazing breakfasts!!

I advise to go to the local museum, it's unique and near by.
There is a nice park near by- great for walking and running.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yotam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Yotam,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Salem does have many wonderful museums. As I recalled you took brisk morning or evening runs around the Salem Common area and found it to be safe and architecturally pleasing. Many locals also make use of this park.

I'm delighted that you & your girlfriend enjoyed our breakfasts and your stay in general. We look forward to welcoming you back any time. Until then.

Shalom,
Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location was ideal, far enough off the main road that it has a neighborhood feel but close enough to walk everywhere. An easy couple blocks walk into downtown area and about 5 min walk to the train you can take to Boston. The room was nice, it was larger than I orginally thought with a kitchen and sleeping area for my 2 year old. Breakfast was the highlight of the day! The breakfast food was AMAZING!! We stayed 2 days and each morning we were greeted by a wonderful treat. The only downside to me was that everything in the town closed so early, most of the shops and museums were closed by 5pm and even though we walked through the town at night we didn't find tons to do. I would stay again but probably plan better to coordinate with weekend stuff in the town.

Room Tip: If you ask she has an apartment with minimal cost difference that has it's own enterance and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A perfect place for a get away to enjoy Salem! An historical house yet it feels so modern! My wife and I loved the room (very spacious) and we enjoyed getting to know Flora. She knows the town and gave great advice (where to eat). It was close to everything - a very easy walk to the village and shops. Leave the car parked in the driveway! The room had all one needed for comfort and peace of mind. Enjoyed a good breakfast with a layout that made you feel welcome. It could have been cramped if more people had been there though. Only wish we had more time there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCOTT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northey, Owner at Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you Scott for your wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Woodbury room. The Woodbury on the 1st floor, like all Federal style houses, have a higher ceiling height than the upper floors. So it is more spacious in that dimension. Glad you had a great stay & found everything you needed in the room.

Salem have great restaurants and was recently presented with an award for the 2012 Best Shopping District by the Massachusetts Retailers Association. There is much more here than meets the eyes, so we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.

Shalom,
Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,013 reviews
3.3 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.3 mi away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#5 of 9 in Salem
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northey Street House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 30 Northey St, Salem, MA 01970-3905
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $100 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best B&B: Winner of the 2011 & 2010 Best of the Northshore (readers choice)! Rated 5-stars on TripAdvisor.com. 1809 Federal, short walk to all attractions. Private baths, parking, AC, cable, WIFI. Smoke-free. Hearty breakfast. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northey Street House Hotel Salem
Northey Street House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing