We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied Custormer”
Review of Clipper Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clipper Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Southwick, Massachusetts
1 review
“Satisfied Custormer”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This motel was recommded by the Visitors Center in Salem Ma. In my opinion it would have been in their best intrest to only recommend places that would be satisfying to the visitors of there very famous town. Upon arrival at the inn I found the staff, grounds and the accommodations completely adequate. The room was clean, very spacious and had all the amenities one could need for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    104
    63
    34
    68
See reviews for
122
109
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We had a very spacious room with coffee maker, microwave, fridge, hair drier, ironing board and iron, alarm clock, 2 queen sized beds, a sitting room (sofa or Futon) plus a table with 2 chairs...what else do people require? The TV couldn't get the channel I wanted, but oh well! We asked for more coffee...we got it...plenty of towels to last us the 2 nights we were there, with no need to get any replaced. The location wasn't exactly what I had hoped for, we did have to drive into town for the sights, but there were restaurants and a convenience store nearby. And for the record...we found the staff to be informative and MOST friendly!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suekellybeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and I were looking to get away for Thanksgiving. We live in Connecticut in Fairfield country which is about 3.5 hrs away. Out children are married and were all off in other directions, so we decided to plan a little get away. Since we are seniors we did not want to drive to far but wanted to stay somewhere close to the water since we live on the water at home. I had been to Salem before on a business trip and in my search for a place to stay over our pending trip for Thanksgiving, I stumbled on the Clipper Ship Inn.

When I called to make the reservations, I was greeted with a very friendly "hello. " We booked our 3 days over the Thanksgiving Weekend and waited with anticipation for the time to come. I told my husband that this was not a "fancy: hotel but a very cute motor inn not far the all the wonderful sights that Salem has to offer and also close to route 128 which we could venture off to "famous RockPort and Gloucester" which are only about 25to30 min. away.

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted and without any hassles went straight to our room. To our supprise, the room which is really two rooms were very spacious. The living room which I will call it: had a sofa, table and chairs, refrig, Microwave and a coffee set up. The bed room separated by double doors had two queen size beds, and a TV.
The bathroom was also very large for a motor inn and I so enjoyed the vanity area where I could fix my hair and makeup. Actually I am a tea drinker so I trottted off to the office and they very kindly gave me some wonderful morning tea bags. Also there is planty of parking and no charge.

We were very happy with the Clipper Ship and when I had to return to the area on a business trip shortly there after, I stayed again at the Inn. My trip was interrupted by the terrible snow storm we had on Dec 19-20, however, the Inn which is accross from Dunkin Doughnuts and 1 block from other restauants and convenience stores kept me very confortable and full.

I am again visiting Salem in the middle of May and I have booked the Clipper Ship Inn for 3 nights. I feel very at home there. The ladies at the front desk are friendly and can give you pointers as to different events and activies that are taking place. The famous "HOUSE OF SEVEN GABLES" is a few blocks away and is a must to see.

To sum it up....The Clipper Ship Inn is a great place for just yourself and families. It is motor Inn and does not have all the frills!!!! But the rooms are spacious for children, you are near restaurants like "99' which kids love and you can stash snaks and sodas in the frig. or microwave a quick soup for them. My daughter is visiting later this year from Westport CT and she and hubby are taking there kiddies for a few days. By the way, I will be staying here for Halloween!!!! must remember to book early.
Gail Liddell
Stratford CT

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No1JerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Not only were the ladies at the desk rude but the place stunk like an air freshener bomb had gone off. the windows did not have screens. a small window at the back of the room was broken with no curtin, witch we found out in the morrning that the sun comes right through it. When we checked out The nasty lady was standing out front of the office waiting for us and told us that we did not tell her that we had a kid (a year and a half) so we owed her another $40 and that we should have been in a larger room as per Fire code. Nice try! the room was about 20 by 30 thats plenty big for a playpen when there is only a double bed in there. We TOLD them we need room for the playpen!! We also had friends in the room next to us and their room was dirty. the air freshener smell didnt disapate and when they picked up their toddler he was black on his hands and knees. This place should be shut down by the helth Dept and I wonder how many people do pay the extra that, after reading some of these reviews, they try to charge everyone? maybe the IRS shoud have a look too!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank how-I-feel-365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2010

My family and I stayed here last summer for 2 nights. When booking the visit from the website, nowhere did it say that the Inn was Pet Friendly. (If it did, I wouldn't have made reservations as my husband and son are extremely allergic to cats and dogs.)

When we arrived and were checking in, there sat a big old cat right in the middle of the lobby. After commenting on this to the clerk, it was at that point that we were told that pets were welcome there. Great!!!

Ten minutes after checking into the room, my son started sneezing, eyes closing, and wheezing. I left and found the nearest drug store for some Benedryl. That helped a little; but then he was groggy and only wanted to sleep for the rest of our trip.

As far as the room goes, I have to agree that it was dingy and dirty looking. I, too, would not take off my shoes...the carpet was disgusting! The pictures on the website are definitely deceiving!!!

Next time in Salem, I'll spend the extra money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianev62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany,n.y
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I recently stayed at the clippership inn ,I have been going to salem for the last 5 years I have many choices regarding inns,hotels,motels.My family and I always stay at the clippership inn where we have always been treated very well and the rooms are very clean and spacious and it is close to all attractions and restaurants and the price is always reasonable any time of the year.Ignore bad reports check it out for yourself..

Helpful?
Thank meghan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I am surprised at some of these negative reviews, we had no issues with staff, location, rooms or cats! The staff was very helpful during our entire stay, Our room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, with extra pillows, we were only a 15 minute walk to the historic area. The area around the room was quiet and we were able to get a smoking room, which is almost impossible these days. Both Suzanne and the other woman in the office were very thorough and friendly, offering all kinds of assistance at the Inn and in town. There were two very quiet and friendly cats in the office, ice and vending service until midnight, plenty of brochures and maps, plenty of toiletries and towels and paper products in the room. This is a place we are already planning to come back to next October, we had no problems at all and were very pleased with every aspect of our visit.
Margie, Scituate MA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieScituate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.9 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Peabody
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Ship Inn

Property: Clipper Ship Inn
Address: 40 Bridge St, Salem, MA 01970-4190
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clipper Ship Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Clipper Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper Ship Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing