We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for our stay”
Review of Clipper Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clipper Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Clipper Ship over a long weekend. We were looking for a cheap place to stay... and we found it. Would have prefered one of Salem's historic b&b's but it was grad weekend and very busy. Still, saw some of the other motel-type places in nearby Danvers and Peabody and we clearly got the better deal.

Getting there was more than a bit confusing: the I95 and the 128 are the same road... but no one tells you that. Once we got to the motel and then looked around Salem we figured it out, but that sure didn't help us when we were lost in outskirts of Boston/Peabody/Salem after dark.

The Inn is almost to Beverly and a little further from historic Salem than we had thought. Just a little too far for walking distance, especially considering how much walking we did during the day!

Found the staff fairly surly. They haven't quite figured out that new-fangled internet thing yet, so the only way to book was over phone, giving credit card for first night and then they snail mailed you a receipt. Spent a few days wondering if we'd actually been booked. The lady seemed to have some trouble with the credit card machine when we got to the motel too. Still, she at least tried to be friendly which is more than could be said for the gentleman who checked us out.

Rooms were spacious and generally clean. We didn't have anyone banging on our door the way others described. One thing to watch out for: spiders. I saw the cleaning staff carrying around smokers, and had a close encounter with a large brown (recluse?) spider in bed one night.

There are a few places to eat nearby but you wouldn't know it from the motel staff: they directed us to the Dunkin Donuts (they give out gift cards which are supposed to cover your breakfast) or the pizza joint, both across the street. We discovered on last night that there were two nice looking restaurants about 5-10 minutes walk down the street.

Yes, there are cats there. Saw two humungous beasts in the lobby, but no where else. Not sure if they were well taken care off: they were pretty much comatose the few times we saw them.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

Pros:
-Walking distance to everything.
-Places to eat very near by.
-Large rooms.
-Clean
-Quiet

Cons:
-Staff were very rude and not helpful at all. It seemed like we were a great bother to them anytime we asked a question or needed something.
-We are great animal lovers and although it was nice to have cats around, we felt very bad for them. The "hotel cats" were not taken care of and we actually went through a great deal of termoil about taking one in particular home with us that we had grown attached to.
-The staff phoned us every morning at 8 a.m. to ask if we wanted the room cleaned. Even after we expressed that we did not want it and did not want them to call us in the a.m. . We ended up unplugging the phone...and then they came and banged on the door.

We plan on going back to Salem for Halloween some year. We will NOT stay at the Clippership, we will stay most likely at the Hawthorne, where we ate many wonderful meals.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyWogKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

There were stains on the floor and on the beds that looked pretty suspiciously gross. The beds were very uncomfortable as were the linens (I slept on top of my bed using a jacket as a sheet and my sister slept on the couch). The staff was rude and unfriendly. It does not have the best location - pictures were deceiving, it was a seedy area. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MoonliteMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Stayed two nights the weekend before last. Just about one year from our last stay. Management was not only courteous, but also very friendly. chatting up our three small boys. There was one, count them, ONE small cat that lives on the premises. No feces anywhere.

Mattresses had been replaced since our last visit. Very comfortable. Sofa in the suite room was new fold down, and much more comfortable than the hide-a-bed that was there last year.

The rooms were more than adequately heated, and very clean, though the tub could have been better. There was a bit of soap build up on it - the only negative thing I saw the entire time.

No one knocked on our door at 8:30 in the morning, or any other time for that matter. It's amazing how effective a do not disturb sign on the doorknob is. Some of the reviewers here should learn what those are for.

For the record, this was my second stay there, and I would, and probably will go back.

The place looks EXACTLY as the photos show it. Some people need to learn that photos don't give a 360 degree view, so there will be more you will see the photos don't show.

Yes, there IS a train that goes by behind the building, but you know what? I had to point out to my wife that's what it was, because it was so quite she almost didn't hear it.

Look folks, this is NOT the Taj Mahal, and doesn't pretend to be. Yes you can find less expensive facilities, but not in this immediate area. Someone mentioned Motel 6, which is just ridiculous. The nearest Motel 6 is in Danvers, several miles from here on route one. Route one is one of the most undesirable locations you could possibly pick anywhere in the area in my opinion, unless you want and need easy access to several area strip joints. the comparison is ridiculous. Route one is also one of the most dangerous roads on the entire North Shore. I used to live there. I know. 50 Mile per hour speed limit, divided highway, and lined with residences and businesses. It is an INSANE road I avoid at all costs.

I would not reccomend this place as a destination, for a romantic getaway, or anything like that, but if you are going to the Beverly-Salem area to visit family or just to visit the local sights, and you want a reasonably priced, decent place to lay your head in between daily trips and visits, this place is extremely convenient to both cities.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justmeagain49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

This should be your last resort option. The front desk was very rude, the room was clean to begin with, but maid service very spotty. The level of clean up was directly correlated to the amount of the tip left on a daily basis. Stay here only if you have to.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tosajohnsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

I don't see why this motel is so maligned in the many reviews I read prior to our stay this past weekend. Is it a new place? No. Is it a first-class facility? No. It is not fancy and it's very basic in decoration. It's an older place. But our room was very clean and the staff was helpful and responsive. There was a weird incident with one of the front desk staff involving the fact that someone was leaving spent cigarette butts on the floor above us, but it's likely the clerk was just venting about it - we were in Room 132, a suite, and never even ventured to the 2nd floor during our entire stay. Maybe she was just in a bad mood? The location of the motel is 'ok,' overall. If you want to be in the middle of the action in Salem, this place is not for you. However, it's much cheaper than those places that are. There's a pub/restaurant, a Dunkin Donuts, a pizza joint and a liquor store within a five minute walk, which was very handy. At the front desk they gave us a number of $3 Dunkin Donuts gift cards to make up for their lack of a breakfast, which was great. We walked downtown, which took us about 20 minutes, an easy walk. Cab service was prompt and handy and $$ reasonable for night trips into town and back. So, for those who just want a clean basic place to hang your hat while touring Salem, go for it. If you want turn-down service and mints on the pillows and plush carpet and room service, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danpaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We made our reservations back in July. The Clipper Ship Inn was picked due to being the only walkable establishment available (all other places were booked) for the weekend before Halloween. Because of the number of ADULTS (some of our kids are 18+) only 4 were allowed to a room (even a suite that sleeps 6) and had to book two rooms for the two nights we were going to be there. We had to pay $475 upfront and were told it was non-refundable if we cancel. This is the first thing that I thought was ridiculous given that if I cancelled at anytime we lost all of our money and it would not have been difficult for them to fill the room given that is the top tourist time for Salem. As fate would have it, part of our group could not go due to sad unforseen circumstances (another relative diagnosed with terminal cancer and not much time left). We asked other family relatives, all of which could not make it, then friends and coworkers - one thing after another happened where no one was able to take the other room. We called the Clipper Ship Inn a week beforehand and they rudely said that we should find someone else for the other room. We tried again and to no avail - we called again to cancel the extra room and eat the costs of it and again we were met with rudeness - it was commented as to how there are nothing but excuses - when we arrived - again rudeness - no smile - no thank you for coming nothing and we kept getting asked as to how many people were with us over and over. Because we cancelled the other room, they increased the room amount another $25 for the single room. We ended up paying another $235. + tax. The room was clean, however the t.v. was very tiny for todays standards and in the bedroom instead of the room with the futon couch in it. We had to sit relatively close to it to be able to see it and could not stay up to watch it due to keeping others up. The beds were incredibly UNCOMFORTABLE! They were very, very hard. BEWARE! Especially if you have back problems! (We don't and even the kids were stiff in the morning). Also there is a train that runs in the back, that you do hear rumble by. We plan on returning to Salem, however we will never stay at this place again - in my 30 years of traveling these were the rudest people that I have ever come across and I have traveled extensivley.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lonecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.8 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,050 reviews
1 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Best Western Plus North Shore Hotel
3.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Ship Inn

Address: 40 Bridge St, Salem, MA 01970-4190
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clipper Ship Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Clipper Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper Ship Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing