We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship shape lodging”
Review of Clipper Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clipper Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ship shape lodging”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this Inn several times and have always had a pleasant experience. The rooms are neat and clean. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the area and quick to recommend a restaurant or spot of interest. And the location is close enough to the downtown area of Salem (about a mile) that you can walk. Also, the rates are very reasonable for Salem which can be pricey to stay in the city itself. Its fun to try to spot the Inn's resident black cat, Salem, while you stay there too!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalN320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    109
    67
    35
    76
See reviews for
131
115
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Ny
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Reasonable rates for Salem. Very clean from court-yard, to office, to room. Able to make coffee and tea in the room is a plus. Check-in was fast by making rfeservation ahead of time.
Very nice motel to stay at if visiting Salem, MA.

Room Tip: Make reservations ahead of visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romig108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My best friend and I went to Salem in Oct 2012 for the first time. We picked the Clipper Ship Inn. It was a great expereince. Suzanne explained everything to us when we got there. She was very friendly and informative. Also gave us tips on our way around Salem. The room was clean and had no problems. At night, it was very quiet, and we both felt completely safe. There are good locks on the door. Since the Witch City is not that close to the Clipper Ship Inn, there is a taxi available. The taxi that brought us to Salem was only $5.00 and they came fast to pick us up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo,Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here March 30th through April 6th 2013 and this was our second stay here.The staff was very friendly and actually met us at our room after we checked in to insure we had everything we needed.Our room was cleaned daily by Barbra who would always stop to chat for a minute when she would see us leaving for the day and we always came back to a clean room that was well stocked with soap,shampoo and a very nice coffee selection for the Keurig coffee maker in the room.Some of the restaraunts across the street offer a 10% discount to guests here.This is by far the most affordable hotel in Salem by far and is very close by to all of the attractions in Salem and the train depot which goes into Boston.I reccomend this hotel to anybody looking for a quiet,affordable,clean place to stay while visiting the North Shore of Boston

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stenny1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornville, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Clipper Ship Inn at Halloween and again this past weekend. I loved it. My suite was clean and came with a kitchenette. Whenever I needed something like extra coffee or directions they were so helpful. The bathroom was spotless with a large tub that I thoroughly enjoyed. This will be my go to whenever I am in the area visiting. Price is very reasonable. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I loved loved loved my stay in Salem! It was great! We stayed over Halloween Happenings at Clipper Ship Inn! It was within distance of all attractions, clean, comfy and inviting! And it is affordable! Going back again this year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigetteR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Going back this year and wont stay anywhere else! Reasonable prices, good proximity to attractions and safe! Cant wait to go back to this Inn. There is also a restaurant within walking distance and a Dunkin Donuts. My first choice for places to stay in Salem!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.8 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
2.4 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper Ship Inn

Property: Clipper Ship Inn
Address: 40 Bridge St, Salem, MA 01970-4190
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clipper Ship Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Clipper Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper Ship Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing