We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service and staff treated us so well that we thought we were in a five star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The service and staff treated us so well that we thought we were in a five star hotel.”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My recent stay was for my cousins wedding. From start to finish, everything was done to perfection. The staff couldn't do enough for us.

The location is wonderful as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. It was also a fantastic place for a wedding. The food was execellent.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dcolegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    433
    112
    43
    45
See reviews for
563
573
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We have stayed here twice now for overnights. Both times were very comfortable, no problems, courteous and pleasant people and a newer, nicely-appointed facility. Good prices during the times we stayed. Great location for going to the Peabody-Essex Museum, which is itself a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UThule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My wife and I enjoy our stay room was great, location great and the staff and service was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tc1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I are wedding photographers, We were asked to photograph a wedding on 2.12.11 at the Salem waterfront. Since we live close by we didnt book a room with the hotel. After being at the wedidng for a few hours we decided it would be best to stay, then came the sad news that they were completely booked for the night :( good for them bad for us! but to my suprise witho=in an hour they had a cancelation and the staff went out of there way to search for me to tell me that they had a room for me and had it all set up! I couldnt believ the customer service that they offered me! I will from now on tell everyone I know getting married and traveling to salem that THIS is the hotel that they need to stay at!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandarstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I know it doesn't sound like a glowing review, but trust me I was very excited to find the Salem Waterfront Hotel when I wanted to stay in downtown Salem but did not want to wake up in a creepy doll house (aka bed and breakfast). I like the B&B idea, but I will never understand why they all have to be so darn frilly. I wanted a nice, clean, accessible, slightly luxurious hotel for a one night stay, and the Salem Waterfront Hotel provided just that. It's walkable from the Commuter Rail, which is key. I do think in the dead of winter the room prices should be more discounted; $135/night was the cheapest room. Granted, it was a nice room, but we did not get any of the benefit of being centrally located in Salem during sunny summer. We didn't do breakfast there, so can't comment on that, although it's nice that it's offered. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richarddustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Richarddustin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are certainly glad that you chose to stay with us out of the other numerous Bed & Breakfasts and Hotels that call Salem home. We hope that you decide to come back to Salem when we have dug ourselves out of the 50+ inches that Mother Nature has brought our way and enjoy our central location to all of the attractions and amenities that our great city has to offer!

The Salem Waterfront Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed in the junior suite one night to celebrate our 35th anniversary. The room was immaculate, warm, and very comfortable. I pre-ordered a bottle of champagne and some chocolate covered strawberry's, which they delivered to our room. The indoor heated pool was quite refreshing. There are many excellent restaurants in the area, and we chose to the nearby Bella Verona, which was great. The next morning, we enjoyed breakfast in the Regatta Pub. Every staff person we met was very friendly and helpful, and we highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillAndTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Bill and Tina,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay with us! This is truly the experience that we strive to provide each and every guest. We were so excited that you choose to spend your special anniversary with us! We certainly hope to see you soon!!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We were awoken at 4 am for the hotel to plow the parking lot one day after a snow storm. The trucks were outside our window for over 1 hour and half.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinebpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Christine,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us in early January. Unfortunately, New England is experiencing one of the worst Winter seasons on record. We have a dedicated snow team who works around the clock to ensure all of our walkways are clear and our parking lot is taken down to the pavement. We have brought your experience to our Engineering Department and we are currently reviewing our snow removal process.

Regards,

The Salem Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,941 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing