We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lied to that pipe broke and shipped to Danvers after 4 hour trip. One year reservation!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lied to that pipe broke and shipped to Danvers after 4 hour trip. One year reservation!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Salem Waterfront overbooks their hotel in October the busiest month of the year. After a reservation made one year in advance and confirmed 2 months prior we were told a pipe broke and our room was not available. We knew this was a lie and the General Manager would not face us. We were shipped to Danvers, 20 minutes normal traffic, 40 minutes with October Salem traffic. Then we were told the truth after demanding to speak to someone that they overbooked. BEWARE!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Salemnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
On behalf of the entire team, I am sincerely sorry for the experience that you had while you were our guest. This is by no means how we want our guests to feel when they are our guests. I have spoken personally with the associate who portrayed that information and have informed them of our proper procedure in the event of being in an oversold situation. While it is not customary for us to overbook the hotel there are on occasion times where we are unfortunately in this situation.

To try to rectify this unfortunate situation we did take care of the room and tax both at the Hotel in Danvers and for the second night of the stay here at the Hotel. I wish that when we spoke personally it was expressed that our guest was still not happy with the situation.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 978.619.1100 or jarruda@salemwaterfronthotel.com if you are ever in the area again and I assure you our team will provide a true Salem Waterfront experience.

Regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Rooms Division Manager
The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    422
    106
    40
    43
See reviews for
548
559
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Went their for the 4th of July weekend. Great location, conveniently close to everything. The staff at the front desk were professional and helpful with inquiries we had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEJAM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Most times when i visit Salem I stay in Peabody and drive into the city, but i have come to decide that the Salem Waterfront Hotel is something you just cant miss. The room i stayed in was huge I have never been so presently surprised. The staff was always welcoming. While at the pool there was a family sitting beside us who had an at least 25 minute chat with the maintenance man who was very helpful with train times and recommendations for the area.
The location of this hotel is unbeatable. It is in the middle of everything. The only flaw i saw was the very hard to cross 4 way stop when u walked out of the hotel. I did come to dread this after a few times attempting it.
This hotel is the best in the area hands down and i will continue to visit it every time i come down to Salem

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasexthexsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

From the time we arrived until we all left, everyone was wonderful. That includes the bellman, the people at the front desk, the staff in the Pub for breakfast and later at night. We also had a group breakfast on Sunday and were very pleased. We had our own room, wonderful food and friendly staff to assist. We asked for a late checkout and it was granted easily.
The location was excellent. Salem is a lovely town and there are great restaurants and shops a few steps away. Having parking for free at the hotel was great too. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend the hotel and might return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Thank you to the great front office staff at the Salem Waterfront Hotel. They met our every need and answered all our questions. Also Mike, the parking attendant, was outstanding. We stayed two different times in the last few weeks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodboyboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Salem Waterfront Hotel is located in a convenient, central location. I'm sure most of their rooms are nice but because we used Orbitz to reserve our room, we were given a horrible room next to the VERY noisy ice machine. I mean REALLY noisy. When we asked about another room, we were told that there weren't any available. This was 6PM on a Wednesday evening. The clerk at the desk finally agreed that the room WAS noisy and that she had one more room available. We were moved to the next room down, right next to the very loud elevators! They were slightly better than the ice machine....sigh! People checked in after us but we found out they had reserved through the hotel, hence the "better" rooms were available for them.
At no time in our two night stay did anyone smile at us or ask us upon check-out how our stay was. The clerks were clearly not a happy bunch. This is not a reflection upon the wonderful, friendly citizens of Salem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathybari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

A friend and I were traveling to Salem for a ladies weekend away. We stayed in the Salem Waterfront Hotel for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The lobby was beautiful and the people at the front desk were very helpful.

The hotel is located by the water which we loved and within walking distance to everything

I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Salem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturgis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Wylie Inn and Conference Center at Endicott College
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing