We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff at the hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful during our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2010

From the time we arrived until we all left, everyone was wonderful. That includes the bellman, the people at the front desk, the staff in the Pub for breakfast and later at night. We also had a group breakfast on Sunday and were very pleased. We had our own room, wonderful food and friendly staff to assist. We asked for a late checkout and it was granted easily.
The location was excellent. Salem is a lovely town and there are great restaurants and shops a few steps away. Having parking for free at the hotel was great too. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend the hotel and might return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffinAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,594 - 1,600 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

Thank you to the great front office staff at the Salem Waterfront Hotel. They met our every need and answered all our questions. Also Mike, the parking attendant, was outstanding. We stayed two different times in the last few weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodboyboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Salem Waterfront Hotel is located in a convenient, central location. I'm sure most of their rooms are nice but because we used Orbitz to reserve our room, we were given a horrible room next to the VERY noisy ice machine. I mean REALLY noisy. When we asked about another room, we were told that there weren't any available. This was 6PM on a Wednesday evening. The clerk at the desk finally agreed that the room WAS noisy and that she had one more room available. We were moved to the next room down, right next to the very loud elevators! They were slightly better than the ice machine....sigh! People checked in after us but we found out they had reserved through the hotel, hence the "better" rooms were available for them.
At no time in our two night stay did anyone smile at us or ask us upon check-out how our stay was. The clerks were clearly not a happy bunch. This is not a reflection upon the wonderful, friendly citizens of Salem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathybari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

A friend and I were traveling to Salem for a ladies weekend away. We stayed in the Salem Waterfront Hotel for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The lobby was beautiful and the people at the front desk were very helpful.

The hotel is located by the water which we loved and within walking distance to everything

I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Salem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sturgis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We were staying here for a medical conference which began each day at 7am. Meanwhile, on Friday night the hotel booked a wedding and since our room was directly over the ballroom, we had to endure the very loud vibrations of the bass and the booming voice of the deejay until 11:30. On Saturday night the front desk told us that the music would only last until 10pm, but when I called down I was told it would continue until 11pm. They were unable to relocate us to an alternate room and they offerred no real apology until we confronted them in the morning. We were told that the hotel was under new management. Just beware that the hotel is not concerned about their overnight guests. Many of our neighbors on our floor were as irate as we were.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. It was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked for directions. I like to eat where the "locals" do and we were not disappointed when the staff gave us their favorite restaraunts.
The hotel is in the perfect location to walk all over the historic part of Salem and we never moved our car. Free parking too.
The restaraunt in the hotel was pricey for breakfast. Once was enough. Try Red's instead, for a fabulous breakfast at a reasonable price -about 5 blocks away.

This is my 6th trip to Salem in the past 20 years. I have stayed in a few places, including B&Bs. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowellHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I stayed here part of the time during my wedding weekend. The rooms themselves were respectable and pleasant. I slept well. Our wedding guests who stayed here reported similar experiences.

Dealing with the front desk before and after was a different story. The desk and office staff often gave conflicting us conflicting answers to us as well as our guests. The personal service at the front desk was much nicer, which makes it hard to understand why they were so hard to work with.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geedebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $140 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing