We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Place !!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My review is a little late however I just wanted to say that I make sure at least once a year I come to this hotel. I love the location but the rooms themselves are so cozy and comfortable and clean. I am very picky when it comes to hotel cleanliness and feel perfectly comfy here. The little pub downstairs is perfect when u don't feel like going out. You can just park your car and walk to everything.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kloMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    433
    112
    43
    45
See reviews for
563
573
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

When I checked in I had my doubts - I will say that. It was the night before my wedding and there was a slight issue with my room - though the front desk guy Anthony was more than accommodating. He turned a potential nightmare into such a great experience. We loved everything about this guy, if there is one thing I can say about this property is he is amazing. All of my brides maids and family took pictures with him we loved him so much! He took the time to point out the best dinner places, sights to see and sights not to see as well as made us all laugh! He really made our experience perfect! We had guest stay at the Hawthorne but they were disappointed when they saw this property! New Fresh Clean and FUN! Thank you Anthony

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spigirl220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We love this place Jamie and Anthony went above and beyond call of duty. I rated this place 5 stars. I work for MGM- Mirage for the last 9 years. Thank you for our wonderful stay. We had a clean and spotless room. Everything was fantastic. Great Views. The Breakfast was incredible.. Thanks again. Travis and Angela .Las vegas

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowers95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

and not spooky!

The hotel is very well located in the centre of Salem with ample parking spaces for guests. The rooms were spacious, modern and tastefully deorated. The hotel bar was also very nice with a younger crowd atmosphere.

Previously we read a number of negative reviews but this hotel exceeded our expectations.

Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soho_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I'm staying in the hotel as we speak. I would give it five stars IF they had used something besides brown and tan colors in the rooms. They're very large (have one with two queens ... still plenty of room left over!) The decor is very gloomy ... BUT the beds are wonderfully comfy, the baths very large and modern, everything very clean. I DON'T like the deoderizer being used that smells like a service station bathroom as you walk into the hotel (note to a previous reviewer ... that isn't fresh flowers you smell!)

The pool is immaculately clean, and has lots of towels, the front desk very helpful ... every single person on there. The Regatta Pub is GREAT! We ate breakfast there ... the BEST coffee and delish chocolate chip pancakes, then had supper there tonight ... very good salads ... both Cobb and Caesar, great French Onion Soup, Clam Chowder, chicken tenders, and a sweet, welcoming, attractive blonde bartender ... who allowed our party of four to play UNO in there after we ate our dinner. It was great, listening to jazz, playing cards, looking at the city lights out the front windows of the pub.

If they'd add some color to the rooms some way, i.e., colorful artificial flowers, ivory drapes, something to lighten the decor (Looks like rooms UPS designed!) and get rid of the deoderizer, I'd give this place 5 stars in a flash. I will definitely stay here when I come back to Salem though!!!

Free wi-fi all over ... we had three laptops running in our room at once, and free parking in their lot. Great place ... but no fridge or microwave or luggage racks (odd?)

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ArabellaA.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This place is simply the best! My best friend and I came to Salem as part of our spring break road trip. When you walk into the hotel you are immediatly smacked with the scent of fresh flowers. The decor is simply beautiful! It reminded me of the Four Seasons. The front desk staff was simply fabulous. We talked about all of the local attractions, she gave us advice on where to eat and shop, and we also recieved a free uprgrade to queen size beds! The hotel is really easy to get to and is walking distance to everything in salem. Free parking was also a huge plus!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank layne4120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

rooms are big and filled with dark, modren furiture. bathroom is roomy and has granite. good amenities. great pub, food and service. only complaint-the wall paper is to dark for the room, makes it look gloomy. but then again, this is salem

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binxme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,940 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
516 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing