We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Salem waterfront hotel has comfortable rooms, excellent service and a wonderful location at the waterfront surrounded by numerous restaurants and attractions. It also has plenty of convenient free parking

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    426
    110
    43
    43
See reviews for
552
566
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petal, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our visit at the Salem Waterfront Hotel couldn't have been any better. The staff was extremely friendly and wanted to be sure that you were well taken care of. It was also in a great location to walk to the sites in Salem. If we are fortunate enough to get to visit Salem again, we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSullivan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location within 15 minute walk to everything you want to see in Salem. Had an awesome king suite with pullout coach for kids. Clean room, excellent pool (but a bit cool), loved the lobby refreshments, and the Regatta Pub's outside dining with fire pits. Best choice in Salem! Four not five stars because bed felt old, not very firm.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I wish so so bad, I had taken pictures of this hotel. I took pictures of everything except it and I had been waiting to stay here for so long (#foolish). However all of the beautiful pics you see on here from other users are accurate and I will def snap many photos when we stay again. I am a big fan of Salem beyond the typical Halloween hurrah. The locals here are surprisingly friendly and there is so much to do. The Salem Waterfront Hotel stays busy (they ought to partner up with the parking garage across the street - as their parking lot is fairly small and shared with other businesses) It would also appear they have a wedding every single second in the summer which makes it hard to get a room sometimes. We ended up with a handicap room on the 3rd floor. It was modern, spacious, and very clean. 2 Full beds with good quality linens and pillows. I was very tempted to try room service; there is just something about this place that make you want to treat yourself. They have fantastic bath products (even toothbrush and shower cap!) and lush towels. I even enjoyed getting ready for our night out - it was a really great room. I actually have to give the night staff at this hotel 10 stars. There is one particular gentleman (forgot name) who was more than helpful and accommodating with us during our midnight binge on the vending machine (again I really wish we had checked out room service). Sadly we missed out on the regatta pub but as mentioned it was full to the max with a wedding party and of course we found other things to do at better restaurants/bars. Honestly my only downside are the children that run rampant and unsupervised during these wedding events but I understand that's not something the hotel can control. I would say this is the best hotel in Salem. As always if you've gotten to the end of this review and have any questions please ask! Happy Travels :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeAnna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent three nights here as we couldn't get a room in Boston. The hotel is not on the water so don't expect great views but it's still a great Salem location.
The front desk staff were ditsy - from vague to unhelpful except for Kate, who was excellent. She dealt with a situation very professionally and was calm and extremely helpful
The room was a good size and great to come back to after a long day sightseeing.
It's a short walk away to the ferry and train line, and has lots of places to eat nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elfinlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for four days and five nights at the Waterfront. Not only is this hotel centrally located but they also offer free parking. We were able to use the car during the day and experience everything the North Shore has to offer or kept the car at the hotel and enjoy Salem. The lobby was decorated with beautiful fresh flowers and we were greeted upon entrance. The Regatta Pub had a great staff who knew the surrounding area well. Our overall stay was excellent and I HIGHLY recommenced staying here. It was fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I got married in neighboring Beverly in early June, and we booked a block of rooms here with my family. The whole wedding weekend was a complete joy, and Salem Waterfront - specifically, its staff - was an unexpected added bonus to the weekend.

Salem is a modern, clean, efficient hotel. Rooms are quite large, beds generally king size, closet space is great (especially when you have all your wedding gear!). All rooms have a mini fridge, and water pressure is great. The lobby is a nice touch - they offer coffee and tea in the morning, and snacks in the afternoon. The hotel itself is in a great location in Salem - walkable to everything.

However, what takes the hotel from four stars to five is its staff. I have never interacted with a nicer, more helpful group of people. From running down an errant package at 10PM, to switching my room to be further from the elevator/noise, to clapping when we first walked in, late at night in our wedding gear, they made us feel truly special - all this when they had three other bridal parties to attend to. Bravo, Ryan, Gina, Eileen - and the whole team. Thank you for making our wedding that much better!


A tip: The room block booking process was a little overwhelming - lots of paperwork and a contract that stipulates you'll pay for any rooms that do not meet the 80% required threshold - thankfully, this was not an issue in our case. However, something to note if you are not sure you'll need the rooms for your wedding party/family.

Room Tip: Salem Waterfront has four suites - and all of them are close to the elevators/vending machines. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Varina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing