We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean comfortable rooms, paper-thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location, clean comfortable rooms, paper-thin walls”
Reviewed July 16, 2008

This hotel was fine for a one-night stay as my husband and I made our way back to DC from a trip to New England.

Our room was nice and clean. Having said that, the walls were VERY thin and everything in the next room could be heard. Luckily, our neighbors were reasonable and considerate enough, and we didn't hear a peep from them after we went to bed.

The hotel has a perfect location with respect to all the important historic sites in Salem. Everything is within easy walking distance. Unfortunately, the word "waterfront" in the name can be a bit misleading ... it didn't seem as though that many rooms had actual VIEWS of the waterfront.

Two minor issues were that breakfast wasn't included (hey, so many places these days include it!), but at least it wasn't too hard to find cheap places to eat nearby. The other thing was that the folks could have been a lot friendlier. Ah well.

The truth is this was a fine hotel, and we had no major complaints. On the other hand, nothing really stood out either.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank SandraFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    443
    115
    44
    46
See reviews for
572
583
54
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Central to all attractions, wharf and restaurants. 221 Queen/Queen has tastefull decor and very clean with superb ammnetities. No wharf view but who looks out the window anyhow. Just walk around the corner and it is all there. Staff are very friendly and helpful providing attraction and direction information despite being quite busy at times. I travel throughout Canada and USA etc and this hotel has all the essentials for a comfortable and relaxing stay.
The restaurant is not at the gourmet level but for a nice reasonably priced meal it is fine. Drinks are good value we had a nightcap, Bailies and it was a perfect offering.

Do not pass up the Salem Waterfront Hotel you won't be disppointed.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Disliked — Not water view as expected
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Canirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Ok so the name is a bit tenious - the hotel is on Pickering Wharf in the Waterfront area, not directly on the waterfont (though some rooms do overlook the marina) - but dont let that put you off - this is a great hotel in a great location.

After a long delay in getting through imigration at Boston (only two desks open for non US citizens) we finally arrived at the hotel at 10pm. Check in was speedy and efficent and though we had just missed last orders in the attached resteraunt/pub we only wanted our bed!

Rooms were large, well equiped with the nice touch of a coffee maker and microwave in the room. Our view was of the car park but then again do you use a hotel for its view?

Room was airconditioned (a bit noisy but ok once you got used to the fan) and was spotlessly clean.

Bathroom well furnished and equiped with bath and shower, an abundance of towels but all very small - if you like warpping yourself in a huge bath sheet this could be a challenge! Shampoo, soap and body lotion supplied but no shower gel so take your own (or buy locally)

Only used the attached pub once for breakfast - friendly efficent service and a wicked omlette served.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel in Salem or the Boston area.

  • Liked — Locatiopn and rooms
  • Disliked — Limited onsite catering
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Skywalker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed in a mini suite for 3 nights. Room was a decent size and nice and clean but overall i thought the place was overpriced considering no breakfast included. friends were staying in a local b&b and paid 50 dollars a night less and they had breakfast included which comprised baked apples, fresh homemade bread etc. there is a bar in the hotel which serves breakfast and its quite cheap, but its fairly mediocre quality. hotel also lacks some facilties which i would have expected such as laundry service. good location within salem which is far from a big place.

overall enjoyed the stay, but think the b&b's offer better value and some more character.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as an alternative to Central Boston, hoping for a quieter stay and this was largely the case.
This a modern hotel with smart decor and good sized roms.
Excellent situation and only a short walk to the Boston Ferry (50 minutes journey to the pier in central Boston)
Hotel seemed fairly full. Only problem was the young men in the next room - arrived back at 2am, clearly drunk and noisy. One night we put down to high spirits and the noise stopped after 30 minutes or so. The next night was much worse - again they returned at 2am, but this time brought a basketball and proceeded to bounce it around with accompanying shouting and obscene language. To be fair when we rang the front desk they tried to calm things down and threatened to put these guests out on the street if they did not quieten down, however it took three calls to the front desk before things improved.
Food (breakfast and dinner) was served in the hotel's pub and was of a good standard and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We stayed two nights as part of a tour of the area. The hotel was a comfortable but fairly standard city centre hotel. The location was handy for the historic waterfront and the centre of Salem and had free parking immediately in front.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bland
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Taymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

My Husband and I had a weekend stay right before Halloween. We had a bumpy start when the hotel lost our reservations, but after a few moments of panic, my husband and I were checked in and everything else went very well.
The room was spacious, updated, and very clean. I don't know what the cleaning staff uses, but it has the most wonderful, fresh and clean scent. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever slept on. I travel a lot and usually have trouble sleeping. Not so at the SWH. I had a very sound sleep.
The hotel is just up the block from Seven Gables and just a couple of blocks from Peabody Essex Museum and all of the Halloween festivities.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spyderlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,971 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing