We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a suite, king bed was great, pull out queen was not as good. If you need the pull out check it when you arrive. Staff was great, we took the last room available so there was no point in asking for another. Sure they would have helped if asked.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip-brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided to investigate the town of witches but were a little disappointed. The hotel was at most satisfactory. We booked ahead for three occupants but everything, even the breakfast was for two only so we were permanently asking for additional coffee etc. The reception staff were a little prickly and we felt that we were being a bit of a nuisance by continually asking for the amenities for our third person. We ordered room service that evening and the food was a little mediocre at best. The chicken was bland and overpowered in lemon, it wasn't worth the cost of the meal.

We wanted to have a swim but the pool was small and overcrowded with children splashing and jumping in the water which put us off so we didn't go in.

In saying that the breakfast was incredible and the waiting staff at breakfast were lovely which made us feel a little happier before leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricicle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated in Salem, right on the water, and within easy access to all the Salem attractions. The indoor heated pool and fitness room are a real plus. Our room was quite large and comfortable. Most impressive, however, was the incredible friendliness of the staff. Everyone was extremely helpful, thoughtful, and in general, contributed to our very positive experience. This is a real gem!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterabrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family stayed at the this hotel 7/7/11. It's in the perfect location next to the water, restaurants, shops and attractions. Very surprised with all the extras: robe, Keurig coffee machine,water bottles, toothbrush & paste along with nice toiletries provided. Staff was very helpful. Great hotel in Salem!! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR0land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights midweek in July while our son was at a basketball camp at a nearby college. This is a perfect base for exploring all the coastline towns of Cape Ann. Salem has plenty of nice restaurants and fun things to do without going anywhere else. That said, it's only a few minutes to Marblehead and a little further to Manchester on the Sea, Gloucester and Rockport. Having free parking is HUGE. The only suggestion I would make (and it would earn the place a 5 rating instead of 4) is if they had refrigerators in the rooms. Since most people are leisure travelers here it would be nice to store a bottle of wine or leftovers from all the great dining spots in town.

Room Tip: Ask for room 232, 332 or 432 -- all corner rooms on the south side of the hotel that have windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSpaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a friend's wedding weekend in Swampscott. We had a long day of travel from NYC and were ready to lay our weary heads for just a bit before heading out to party hearty with the two grooms!

Jose was our front desk attendant at check in. He was warm, friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The whole check in process was great and more importantly, super quick!

Our room was huge! (I am the food and beverage manager at a small boutique hotel in NYC, so anything seems big to me!) It was clean, beds were comfy with lots of pillows.

Only complaint is that housekeeping did not replenish our soap in the morning.

Loved the keuric coffee maker; very necessary fuel for a wedding weekend.

Thanks so much for making our weekend wonderful and giving us a lovely place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tstivala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights mid-week and were completely happy. We had absolutely no complaints. We had a very comfortable room and loved being able to leave our car there for the entire visit at no cost. We breakfasted there (good food, well prepared for a reasonable cost) and then left for a day of sight-seeing. Because it is situated close enough to everything worth seeing, we were able to go back to the room for a few hours of rest before heading out to dinner at night.

This is definitely a top notch place to stay in Salem Massachusetts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pshapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $150 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing