We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Windham, NH
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Salem Waterfront Hotel while I attended a multi-day conference at a near-by college. The accommodations were excellent, although I would have appreciated having a continental breakfast included in the room rate. The service was attentive to our needs without being intrusive. The hotel's location within historic Salem allowed my wife easy access to various sites of interest, museums, restaurants, etc. while I was involved in conference activities. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    433
    112
    43
    45
See reviews for
563
573
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this comfortable and ideally located hotel for 4 nights. It was a bit pricey, but savings came in other ways. Parking is at a premium at restaurants and attractions, so parking in the hotel lot and walking Salem was a cheaper and healthier choice. The fresh flowers outside and in the lobby smell delightful. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful with Salem destination maps, recommending restaurants and providing umbrellas (for rainy days). The double queen room was clean and the bed gave a restful night sleep, but did not provide a grab bar in the shower or a mini fridge in the room. The hotel restaurant had outstanding food and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The outdoor patio is perfect for a drink or late snack under the stars on a quiet Sunday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a specific bed size (standard or queen) and a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been to the Salem waterfront Hotel meny times and never disappointed.The rooms are very spacious and the Regetta has excellent food.It is in walking distance of all the attractions.The staff is very pleasant and Ryan will go out of his way to make you feel comfortable and is very knowledgeable.We look forward to seeing Ryan every time we go to the Salem Waterfront Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumn334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very much enjoyed the one night stay at the Salem Waterfront Hotel and Marina - when I walked in to the room I was a bit confused thinking I was to pull out the couch to a bed, but then I saw the french door leading to the bedroom and was so impressed. Like a city apartment, it was so cozy and comfortable, I really did not want to leave! Guest services upon check in was friendly, efficient and professional. Room service for breakfast was timely, delivered by friendly staff, delicious and followed up on with a courtesy call. I wish the weather had been better to enjoy the time on the wharf, but can't find anything bad to say about the hotel. Would definitely be back if it was in the travel plan and budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We used the Salem Waterfront Hotel as the hotel for our wedding block. We ended up occupying 25 rooms and overall had a fantastic experience with the hotel and their staff. I personally stayed there 4 nights and saw many different rooms and have to say that over all I am very impressed. The rooms are a little pricey, but compared to the Hawthorne Hotel (the other large hotel in the area) it's worth every penny. All rooms are updated, clean, and feel comfortable. The Regatta pub offers a great breakfast but also stays open late for a night cap. The staff at the hotel was friendly, and accommodating in every way possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view otherwise you're looking at parking lots. Also, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's all about location location location and the Salem Waterfront has that in spades! All the points of interest were an easy walk away, with a pub located in the lobby which offered amazing food and prompt room service that was piping hot when delivered. The room was large and comfortable and the cleaning staff should receive an award for the great job they do because the room was spotless. I plan on returning to this hotel and would recommend it for anyone needing a great place to stay while in Salem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
196 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location on Pickering Wharf. We parked the car and went everywhere on foot. Nothing that we wanted to see was more than 5 minutes away. The double queen room we shared was large and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it for anyone coming to experience Salem!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,933 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing