We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
cape cod
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here for 1 night on 4/16. We were in town to tour Salem State with our oldest but having never been to Salem, decided to stay overnight in order to check out the town. The hotel is in a great location. 5 minutes drive to the college and walking distance to most attractions. The "waterfront" is extremely small. The hotel itself is not huge, the lobby, restaurant and pool are on the smaller side than other hotels, but everything was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the King Suite which was great. Bedroom with king size bed and second room with pull out sofa bed, small dining table, small fridge, keurig coffee maker with numerous pods to choose from. The bathroom was spotless. We received a $10 gift card for the hotel restaurant that we used for breakfast which was delicious. The only complaint I had was the intense smell of the lily's from an enormous floral arrangement in the lobby. The smell was overpowering and carried into the elevator. But if that's the only complaint I'd say you should give this hotel a try if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Top floors (4th or 5th) may offer a slight water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    437
    114
    43
    46
See reviews for
568
580
54
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As a handicapped traveler, I have unique needs, well beyond those of the average traveler. The Salem Waterfront Hotel has gone "above and beyond" on every one of my stays.

I don't know where to start. The staff is outstanding, particularly Ryan, Harmony, Ashley (and others too numerous to name). The building, rooms, and lobby are especially inviting. The floral arrangements, the mantle decorations, the freshly baked cookies and hot cider, and above all, the gas fireplace on a cold rainy afternoon are welcoming.

After my first stay in early February, on my return week after week, the hotel set up the room to my specifications. Especially important to me, is the roll-in shower; this one is without a doubt the best design I've ever seen. The threshold at the outer edge of the shower prevents water from getting on the floor - a slip hazard for somebody who has difficulty walking.

The personal Keurig coffeemaker in the room is a real plus. Partnered with complementary bottled water, you're all set for your morning coffee.

In the winter, following snowstorms, I left the hotel only to find that my van had been cleared and shoveled out. It made getting to work that much easier.

I have recommended that the management and staff of this hotel form a consulting firm and consult to other hotels and hotel chains. They clearly "get it".

Not one, not the "G" in Galway, Ireland, the JW Marriott in Indianapolis, Indiana, the Hilton Garden Inn in Warwick, Rhode Island, the Residence Inn in Danvers, Massachusetts, The Palmer House in Chicago, Illinois, while ranging from good to excellent, can measure up.

The Regatta Pub is cozy, the staff are friendly, the food is amazing, and the prices are quite reasonable. While I was having dinner on several occasions, I couldn't help but overhear the wedding planner with some soon-to-be brides and grooms. A a special occasion in a special location.

Take my advice. If you're coming to the Salem area, or even the greater Boston area, book at the Salem Waterfront Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretB672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a family during April school vacation. We wanted to visit the Peabody Essex Museum and The House of the Seven Gables. The location was perfect! We were able to walk to all the local attractions and restaurants. Our room had 2 queen size beds and was a nice large room. Everything in the hotel was spotless. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but hear from other guests that it was fantastic.
At night we did take the kids for a dip in the pool. Although the pool is small it was fine for a quick swim relax the kids before bedtime.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Salem to go sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojay-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 951 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First visit to Salem. Booked this hotel due to proximity to local attractions. This hotel has great walkability to many points of interest i.e.Harbour, Salem Trolly pick-up and various other attractions and restaurants. Parking and internet included, double queen room spacious, small desk for laptop use and two sitting chairs. Great shower pressure and nice citrus showering amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A few weeks ago I stayed at this hotel and I was extremely impressed not only by the hotel but the staff. The staff was making sure that my guests and I were were content and settled even when there was a wedding going on. The waitress was very friendly and the food was delicious. I am a buffalo chicken fanatic and picky when it comes to it and these ones passed my test with flying colors. We called the front desk and asked if they could bring another blanket up and within minutes there was someone with a fresh clean blanket at my door. The beds were extremely comfortable and I liked that they had free wifi. I did not stay long enough to go in the pool but it looked clean and I can not wait for the next time I go back to try it out. Thank you so much Salem Water Front and stuff for your hospitality. I will be back the next chance I get it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meaghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overall the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I recommend this hotel to any one in this area. Great for a weekend get away...to grabbing some food (DELICIOUS FOOD)....having a wedding (saw a beautiful wedding when I stayed). I know the Salem area very well and let me tell you something...the first time I stayed in Salem, I stayed at the Hawthorn Hotel. Biggest mistake. Salem Waterfront is clean, friendly staff, great food, and overall a better experience. They have a pool which my wife and I enjoyed very much. Although I do not know if the guest enjoyed the sight of me in a bathing suit, the pool was awesome. My wife and I will always go back to the Salem Waterfront Hotel. I never write reviews...reason why I am writing this is because I follow the Salem Waterfront on Facebook (recommend you all do have great deals for facebook friends) but we all know about the tragic marathon monday....Salem Waterfront is letting any one stay at the hotel who ran the marathon stay for free. Shows how much class this hotel has and how they will always be there to help. This is not a hotel who cares just about the money...they care about the community and most of all the guests who stay in it. AWSOME HOTEL..GREAT STAFF...GREAT ROOMS.

Room Tip: Every room is great...All great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful Hotel, very clean and friendly!! Food was fabulous as well. We ate breakfast and dinner there twice the food was really good and plentiful so there was no need to venture out. There is a beautiful inside pool that was wonderful!! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing