We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A few weeks ago I stayed at this hotel and I was extremely impressed not only by the hotel but the staff. The staff was making sure that my guests and I were were content and settled even when there was a wedding going on. The waitress was very friendly and the food was delicious. I am a buffalo chicken fanatic and picky when it comes to it and these ones passed my test with flying colors. We called the front desk and asked if they could bring another blanket up and within minutes there was someone with a fresh clean blanket at my door. The beds were extremely comfortable and I liked that they had free wifi. I did not stay long enough to go in the pool but it looked clean and I can not wait for the next time I go back to try it out. Thank you so much Salem Water Front and stuff for your hospitality. I will be back the next chance I get it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meaghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    428
    111
    43
    44
See reviews for
556
569
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overall the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I recommend this hotel to any one in this area. Great for a weekend get away...to grabbing some food (DELICIOUS FOOD)....having a wedding (saw a beautiful wedding when I stayed). I know the Salem area very well and let me tell you something...the first time I stayed in Salem, I stayed at the Hawthorn Hotel. Biggest mistake. Salem Waterfront is clean, friendly staff, great food, and overall a better experience. They have a pool which my wife and I enjoyed very much. Although I do not know if the guest enjoyed the sight of me in a bathing suit, the pool was awesome. My wife and I will always go back to the Salem Waterfront Hotel. I never write reviews...reason why I am writing this is because I follow the Salem Waterfront on Facebook (recommend you all do have great deals for facebook friends) but we all know about the tragic marathon monday....Salem Waterfront is letting any one stay at the hotel who ran the marathon stay for free. Shows how much class this hotel has and how they will always be there to help. This is not a hotel who cares just about the money...they care about the community and most of all the guests who stay in it. AWSOME HOTEL..GREAT STAFF...GREAT ROOMS.

Room Tip: Every room is great...All great beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful Hotel, very clean and friendly!! Food was fabulous as well. We ate breakfast and dinner there twice the food was really good and plentiful so there was no need to venture out. There is a beautiful inside pool that was wonderful!! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A smart modern hotel quite near the waterfront but no great views. Rooms spacious and well equipped and reasonably quiet unless it is dustbin day. Location is good for the town and the walk along the quay. Beautiful flowers in reception. Charged for a meal we did not have and they were unable to provide evidence. Made a fuss but got charged anyway then had to ring up next day to hear that they had made an error and would make a refund. Small amount but felt that they should not have charged it before getting proof

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priscilla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My girls and I love this hotel. This hotel close to everything SALEM! The staff is amazing. The room are beautiful and comfortable. The food at the Pub is great! I recommend try their breakfast. Will never stay anywhere else when in Salem!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife, son and I had a night in Salem and contemplated staying out by the highway for less money, but we decided we wanted to be within walking distance of Salem's attractions. It turned out to be a good move. It was very nice to be able to have the hotel as a nearby base for the day. And if you can talk them into giving you some breakfast vouchers, the breakfast is very nice. The pool is not huge, but it was nice.

Hotel is nicely appointed and the room we had was comfortable

Oh, did I mention the hotel lends out iPads to guests for free? Just give a $100 deposit. Return the iPad and they return the deposit. My son was thrilled!

Parking in Salem is not free, but guests of the hotel get a spot right downtown included with the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JackInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We could not have been in a better location for walking around the waterfront and downtown Salem. The House of Seven Gables is a short walk from the Salem Waterfront Hotel. We spent Easter weekend at the hotel and was greeted by the Easter Bunny on Sunday morning when we got off the elevator in the lobby. That was fun! A "wicked" good hotel in the great New England town of Salem! We loved it.

Room Tip: Stay above the 2nd floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JStarrH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing