We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“March road trip”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel very nice. Lobby smelled from fresh flowers. Had fireplace going. Lovely entrance. Comfortable. Pool is so warm...really enjoyed the pool. Parking in lot is very convenient. Easy to walk everywhere. Staff helpful with local information, restaurants and sites

Room Tip: had room with king size bed. comfortable. plenty of room. easy to get around. No refrigerator in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    437
    114
    43
    45
See reviews for
568
579
54
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here only one night. Walking distance to everything within town. The check-in was fast and courteous. The fireplace in the lobby with seating is a nice touch. We just stayed in the Hilton Back Bay and these rooms are larger (Queen X 2) and more luxurious with better and more modern equipment. You even get a toothbrush and Colgate toothpaste in the bathroom amenities - never had that before at this priced hotel...well done. Shower pressure very good. The furnishings are new and very comfortable. Free Wi-Fi is always nice. The Regatta Pub serves good food...no need to leave at night after a whole day of activities. All in all....a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11Raffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were in town for my daughters play at SSU and it was also my husbands birthday. I asked the girl at the front desk if this was a nice room while he was getting our luggage from the car. She then upgraded our room. We loved the Kurig coffee makers in the room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank busymomMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've stayed here before...during Halloween, but came for a few days to see Salem in the Winter (wishing for Spring). The fireplace in the lobby was nice, and added warmth of a chilly weekend. The rooms were well kept, clean, and comfortable as usual. Even nicer ammenitities this time...Keurig coffee makers, and coffee, in our room. Also complimentary bottles of water, a $10 gift card towards food at the Regetta Pub, and a small box of chocolates awaited us. We had an end room overlooking Derby Street, which is fun, because you can watch the people walking. The hotel was quiet and nice and warm. Centrally located to just about everything. Just a short walk to restaurants, shops, and attractions. The only downside was that both Friday and Saturday night, the hotel was hosting wedding receptions, so the lobby was crowded with people both nights, and the Pub was to busy to enjoy a drink either evening. Otherwise, we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StormyDaze0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found this hotel to be well appointed and very comfortable. Staff was helpful and good natured .We will come back in the summer .Breakfast gift card was a surprise and a very nice gift. I left behind a container of pills and they were sent to me immediately How thoughtful .

Room Tip: Our room was very nice but looking out toward ocean would probably be nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I desperately needed a weekend away. No responsibilities (kids, pets etc). We have family in Salem and were unable to stay with them due to illness in the house. Who wants to bring that back home? Anyways, we always comment on staying at the hotel and now we had a reason. The room was spacious, the person that took the reservation have us an upgrade to a king need, my husband is military. They do not have waterfront rooms because the wharf is built up do much. I like to think we did s waterfront room after all. There was water and the "Friendship" outside my our room window. I hate to wish illness on my in laws but I cannot wait to go back this Summer. Its perfectly located in town. Sight seeing and restaurants are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diaryofamotomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few days on a business trip. Best pillows I have slept on in a long time. Morning coffee available by the front entrance along with afternoon lemonade, tea, cookies and fruit - nice touch! Staff was always helpful. Good pub food and friendly service. This hotel is within walking distance to all restaurants, shops, and all Salem attractions. I look forward to coming back with my family and have already recommended this hotel to my staff as the place to stay in during future business trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mac21nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,952 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
522 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing