We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Salem Waterfront Hotel several times and have always been pleased. The rooms are comfortable & clean, and the service excellent. Once we had a breakfast included through one of their specials which was also very nice. We were visiting family in Salem, so it was much more convenient than driving out to Rt 95 or Rt 1 where the chain hotels are.

Room Tip: I prefer to be in the front of the building just to watch the folks coming & going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjski685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a former resident of Marblehead, I travel back to the North Shore frequently to visit family and friends. Typically I choose to stay at the Hawthorne Hotel but this time they were sold out so I decided to give the Salem Waterfront Hotel a try..and I couldn't have been happier to stumble upon this great property! The lobby decor was beautiful and the fresh flowers were amazing! The rooms were impeccably clean and decorated nicely. While the physical property was great..the staff was outstanding. The front desk staff was amazing and always greeted me with a smile and hello as I entered the lobby. Wendy and Meagan in the restaurant were fantastic as well! I am glad that my old stand by was sold out during my most recent trip because it gave me the opportunity to find my new go-to hotel when I'm back on the North Shore! Thanks for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a difficult time finding the hotel, as we were there in October and the Halloween decorations in the streets obstructed our view of the sign! When we finally got there, it was an hour before check in and our room wasn't ready. Disappointing, but what can you say! The staff was very accomodating, and stored our luggage for us while we walked over to the Witch Museum. When we returned, our room was ready. It was very nicely sized and clean and comfortable. The pub in the hotel was very good; had lunch and breakfast there. The hotel is on the same street as the House of Seven Gables, so that was an easy walk. Everything we wanted to see in our short time there was within walking distance, and there were lots of restaurants and shopping nearby as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snoopydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I visited Salem for two nights in December. Absolutely loved this hotel. we were a little early checking in, so our room wasn't ready yet, so we parked the car and hit the pavement, within an hour they called my cell to let me know the room was ready, and upgraded us to a suite. it is within walking distance to everything, shops, restaurants, clubs, etc. Ordered room service for breakfast one morning, it was in our room in 10 mins. GREAT SERVICE, also very clean. The weather could have been a little better, but next time will visit in summer. Finz restaurant on the water front is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here to visit family in the area for 6 nights in mid December. We have traveled extensively over the years and enjoyed some very nice hotels. The staff here love their jobs, speak well of management and it shows. From check-in to check-out we experienced a friendly, professional group of people who work as a team and are guest-centric. Our minor requests were always met with enthusiasm. Enjoyed the food in the Pub. Would recommend w/o hesitation or reservation(but you should have one b'cause they can get busy). Plus, Salem is an interesting place to visit on the North Shore.
Ron G.

Room Tip: Jr suites are roomier and fairly priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting last week, by far the BEST hotel! Everyone from the front desk to Housekeeping was AMAZING!!!! Every time our group had a break (breakfast,morning and lunch) Meaghan was there to help! It didnt matter how busy it was, she was in control! We had drinks before we went for dinner, staff was great! During all meetings staff seemed very attentive as well! Clean hotel with Great decorations! HIGH FIVE to the SALEM WATERFRONT HOTEL and REGATTA PUB!!!! Will be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were surprised with an upgrade to a King suite. We were thrilled with our accomodations, we found some nice little gifts on our dining table, chocolates, tee-shirt and bottled water along with a personalized note welcoming us to the hotel. We totally enjoyed the heated pool and the Regatta Pub. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary!

Room Tip: higher rooms, usually suites, have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $138 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing