We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly fine, but overpowering air freshener smell undermined it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine, but overpowering air freshener smell undermined it.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The mostly glowing reviews from other travelers had prepared us for a reasonably luxurious stay. We found, however, that, with one major exception, the hotel was perfectly serviceable. It reminded us of a Days Inn or a similar property. The lobby is filled with natural light, and the elevators were acceptably fast and spacious. The hallways are clean, as was our room, which had comfortable beds. We were on a low floor but didn't hear any street or parking lot noise. The configuration of our room was such that only one, lonely window sat at the end of a long, narrow room, so even though the sun was out in full force, our room was always dim. There was sufficient electric lighting, though, and the electrical outlets were also sufficient. All in all, we would have returned for future stays, just with adjusted expectations, but for one major consideration: the pervasive, overwhelming chemical air freshener miasma. Usually one or the other of us will notice or comment on a smell, but this one knocked us both around, hard. When we first entered our room, we dashed for the window, which is designed to open, but to which small wood blocks have been attached that cruelly prevent the window from opening. We decided to tolerate the smell since we weren't planning to spend much time in the room, but we did leave the room again as quickly as possible. The hallways and elevator were much, much worse, and even the hotel lobby smelled chemically. I don't know if some air circulation component had failed or if this is normal, in which case one can't help but wonder what is being covered over with the heavy fragrance. It made the property feel much less clean than it appeared. At our request, the housekeeping staff did not use any "air freshener" products in our room so our room was a little better on the second day. I was prepared to mention the odor to the front desk upon checkout, but the employee didn't ask how our stay was or demonstrate any particular interest, so I didn't bother. We won't be going back to this hotel, unfortunately. If you don't mind strong artificial fragrance in the air, the hotel certainly provides good value for the low price, but breathing comfortably is just a baseline requirement for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    426
    110
    43
    43
See reviews for
552
566
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Upon checking in, no offer of assistance w/ bags to room. My two most important criteria is spotless bathroom & a good clean bed. The sheets were nubby & dingy. The pillows stank like an old man who never shampoos his head. The bathroom corners were dusty & hairy, chips & debris stuck on walls. Not very presidential :(

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Workstovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in October. We were unexpectedly upgraded to the Concierge Floor, which included Continental breakfast and afternoon snacks. Also included was a coupon to be used at the Regatta Pub (onpremises restaurant). The staff couldn't have been nicer or more attentive to our needs. The location of the hotel was excellent, as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Salem Waterfront Hotel for 3 nights and had a fantastic stay. We booked it because it has an indoor pool and our group had several kids who really love pools (who doesn't?). They loved the pool and the adults enjoyed the hotel....comfy, quiet rooms, very helpful staff, nice eatery and bar downstairs, easy parking and a terrific location in Salem. I would echo one reviewer's comment about the overpowering air freshener in the hallway, but other than that, an awesome experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdperkins728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I were attending an anniversary party in Hamilton and chose to stay here because of a recommendation from the bride's mother. She WAS NOT wrong!! The proximity to the shopping and waterfront areas was great ~ no more than a 10 minute walk. Our room was extremely comfortable and large. I have only two minor complaints ~ one already mentioned by another guest about the air freshener in the hallways being overpowering and the other was that we never got our wake up call. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk they were very apologetic and were calling in someone to check out their automated system.

Name of the hotel is a bit deceiving since it says it's the "waterfront" hotel....you had to look really hard to find water!

The room was not inexpensive, but we found that booking it thru Orbitz saved us $40/night! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: As I stated before, book thru Orbitz.......$40 cheaper/night.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed over the weekend while checking out Salem State University. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is great. The only issues that I had were that the air freshener in the hallway was overpowering. Also, when my daughter used the robe in the room someone had left their belongings in the pockets. So the robe had never been washed. The receptionist was very apologetic and asked if we wanted a fresh robe brought up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mabeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Attended a wedding at the Salem Waterfront Hotel, and stayed in the hotel as a guest. Just delightful - from check in to check out.

Booked the room months ago, and had no issues at check in. We booked as part of a wedding party room block, and the rate was quite reasonable. Fourth floor offers concierge level service - with continental breakfast/coffee and evening snacks. Nice touch! View from the corner room wasn't spectacular, but the hotel is so conveniently located that you really just need to step out the front door and go for a walk to enjoy the harbour and sights of Salem.

A few blocks walk, and you are in the historic district, with a variety of restaurants and attractions to enjoy. Seemingly endless shopping as well, although i only took advantage of a stop at The Bunghole liquor store across the street.

The beauty of this trip was that the wedding was held in the ballroom, followed by a cocktail reception in another room while the wedding party was photographed and the ballroom reset for the reception. All of this was executed seamlessy, and the banquet/bar staff were top notch throughout the event. Banquet food was delicious and served efficiently.

While i had no involvement as an event planner, i can say that from my point of view as a guest at an event at the Salem Waterfront Hotel, it was nearly flawless. Complimentary parking, too!

It is without reservation (see what i did there?) that i can recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Salem, MA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,902 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing