We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in the hotel this summer. I really liked the location. The service was awesome, and the hotel staff was very friendly. Also, the hotel serves a very good food. I will defiantly stay there again. The rooms were clean and very comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yasir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    428
    111
    43
    44
See reviews for
556
569
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We checked in to room 330 Monday..the place is adorable..the girl that checked us in was very sweet..hotel is very clean..I loved seeing the fireplace when we first walked in and the hot apple cider was a nice touch..our room was spacious and very clean as well..half hour after we got to our room the front desk called to see how everything was and did we need anything (loved that) we slept great I want the pillows lol..it is very quiet and relaxed here..housekeeping is also very sweet..we walked everywhere and it was close to the hotel..everytime we left to go out and come back it was like coming home..the Regatta Pub is very good kristen who was our waitress was great..we ate there 3 times..we will be coming back in a few weeks if we can that's how much we love it here..def check out the gulu gulu cafe on essex street amazing food and coffee ate there 2 days..there are so many cute stores around..we fell in love with the area and were planning to move up here..its gorgeous here, the air, the people, and the scenary..I totally recommend this place..leaving here tomorrow :( don't even get me started we don't want to leave..thanks for a life changing stay salem waterfront hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank papsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

From the time we walked in the door until the time we left our experience was amazing. This was our second trip to the Waterfront and it was every bit as wonderful as the first. We arrived from Orlando Fl to a lobby filled with the wonderful scent of warm apple cider wafting through the air. Needless to say this immediately putting us in the festive fall mood...not to mention the warm fire in the large fireplace along with fall decor everywhere. The staff was warm, welcoming, and friendly asking about our trip in and welcoming us back for our second visit. I was especially pleased at our room. We had called several days in advance to ask for a room with a water view that we had had the year before. You can imagine how pleased we were that they went out of their way to ensure we had the same room.

As for dining. You have many fun and great places to eat while in Salem but I have to say that we enjoyed most of our meals right there at the hotel. The Regatta Pud is the onsite dining facility but that is not why we ate most of our meals there. We ate there because the food is THAT good. My husband and I can say that we honestly have thoroughly enjoyed every meal at the Regatta, as well as the great service. It also stays open until 11 most nights. (Late dining is not an easy find in the witch city).

So, if you are looking to enjoy Salem through the Halloween season or any time at all you will NOT be disappointed with your stay, staff or food at the Waterfront Inn!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElegantCapesbyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a perfect place to stay. Right in the middle of all of the action in Old Salem. This hotel has it all: reasonable prices, lots of white fluffy towels, terrific water pressure in the showers, comfortable beds, lots of pillows, flat screen TV, free and fast WIFI. We couldn't have enjoyed this more. We were at the hotel for a family function. We found the staff to be very courteous and attentive. There are even signs in the corridors next to the elevators in the evening asking guests to be quiet and mindful of others. A very nice touch. There is also plentiful and free parking for hotel guests directly in front of the hotel entrance. If you are visiting Salem I would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the building facing the parking lot. With that, our room was very quiet. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBQUEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 1 night in Sept 2012 and would certainly return if visiting Salem. Friendly service, good sized, clean and well presented room and in an excellent location to explore the Salem attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

"Near the water and maybe some partial views, if you're lucky" is more of an appropriate name. The hotel is very nice and we loved the decor, with its sailing themed pictures. Everything was very tasteful. The staff were great, the bed was comfortable. The room was a little warm-it was actually HOT when we first walked in as the temp was cranked up to max. We just turned it down and opened the window. The reason this hotel gets a 4 instead of a 5 was because we felt gouged during our stay. Paying $160 in a touristy area for a decent hotel is worth it. But when the prices get jacked up to >$350 a night and with a required 3-night stay, that's when I feel taken advantage of. They do this for the Halloween events, of course. We did get welcomed with a trick-or-treat bag with some candy. I guess that should take a little of the sting away.

If I'm back in this area of the country, I would definitely stay here again. Just not during Halloween.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnH100111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

In Salem this past weekend for my son's wedding, stayed at the Waterfront 3 nights. Room was clean and comfortable, nice views from both windows (only the 4th floor rooms have a view, lower floors are blocked by surrounding condos). Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Had breakfast at the Regatta Pub twice, food was very good and service was excellent. My only complaint was that we were quoted a group rate for the wedding, but that rate was only good for 1 night, plus the last night was higher since it was a weekend. So, I ended up being charged one rate for the first night, and higher rate for the second night, and an even higher rate for the third night. We were not informed of this when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Forest306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing