We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Orchard Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After finding all cheaper hotels in the area booked we decided to splurge one evening and stay here. It was excellent. From the grand shell display on the fireplace in the lobby to the crisp clean comfy beds! Staff directed us to the best dining in town and there were many shops within walking distance where we could do some shopping. We were able to walk to everywhere in Salem that we wanted to see. It was the perfect location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    437
    114
    43
    45
See reviews for
568
579
54
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel was nice, was a little disappointed that the beds were double instead of queen but not a huge deal. We paid over $650 a night each two rooms which I thought was excessive but the thing that really bothered us was the breakfast. Upon check in they informed us that for $15, they could include breakfast in the morning which we gladly paid for. In the morning we went to the 4th. floor for breakfast and was shocked at what we found. As soon as you exited the elevator, directly in front of you was a counter with coffee, tea, juice, bread for toast, a bad of bagels and muffins. the counter was probably 6-8 feet long in front of the elevator with 6 people attacking it like they hadn't eaten in a month. Once we finally got to the counter and got our food, there wasn't even a place to sit. The attendant said it's designed for takeout, not one seat available. $45 for that? My suggestion, DON'T BUY THE BREAKFAST! This should have been free of charge $4.95, not $15.00. I noticed on the Hotel's room service menu, that you can have omelets delivered to your room for $9.95, how can they justify $15 for toast & coffee? I would stay again, but not buy the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First of all, the location is superb - but that's pretty much where the good news ends.

I had the impression one would have the sense of water nearby, but you really don't. Water can't really be seen from the hotel, from what I could tell.

The "junior Suite" was not what I expected. It was just a room with a bed and a pull out sofa. It had only one television. There was a microwave and mini fridge.(I was told that that is what made it a suite, by the late night receptionist who also said that they do not help pull out the sofa beds.) That said, the other staff was very nice and attentive.

The parking was horrible. Every time I parked I had to go in and get help locating a spot and one time I actually had to take the car to another lot down the street by myself. Again, the staff was very nice, but the hassle was annoying.

The facility itself is pretty ordinary inside. The room was clean and comfortable.

The restaurant provided mediocre fare. While the staff was fine, there were only three desserts and the chocolate cake and fried cheesecake (while VERY expensive) left a lot to be desired. Pretty bad. The view is of the parking lot.

The worst part was the price of the hotel. It was absolutely horrible for what was provided. If the price was half what we paid, I would have rated the hotel four stars. But when you charge what they do, you have to deliver, and they did not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent hotel and stay. Room was very clean and the staff was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Check in process was very easy. Location is within walking distance to everything. The Regatta Pub had excellent food at reasonable prices. I highly recommend anyone staying at this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezjr3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is a perfect home base for seeing everything in Salem. Everything is within a 5-10min walk from the hotel. The staff are freindly and are happy to give you tour info and directions to sites. The hotel is very clean, the rooms have keurig coffee pots in them and the wifi is top notch. The beds were comfy, rooms were a great size and the bathrooms were very clean, nice bathrobes in the closets for guests to use too. Overall this was an excellent hotel and I plan on staying there again the next trip to salem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlyq781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was hosting a large birthday party in September and struggled to find a hotel that would give me a block of rooms for 1 night because of the Fall season and Salem. My event planner helped me get in touch with the Salem Waterfront and I worked with Adrianna in the Sales office.

From the minute I started working with them until the moment I checked out, I was extremely impressed with this hotel. The property itself is great, modern, and in a great location on Pickering Wharf. The check-in process was easy and the staff was very knowledgable. I rented a junior suite which was a very good size and extremely clean, with a sink, counter, and refrigerator.

I would highly recommend this hotel for any purpose you have in Salem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimsicle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

No real surprises. Informative, knowledgeable, friendly, honest, clean, peaceful, spacious,good parking, good vicinity, good restaurants nearby etc... good value. In corridor breakfast experience could be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,952 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
522 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing