We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just left Salem waterfront hotel 2 weeks ago.Its my 5th time there.Dont get me wrong the hotel is nice and clean and in the middle of everything but a word to the wise. Wanted to book for next October and the new rule is you cannot get your deposit back at all, its nonrefundable. So if you get sick or a death in the family they dont care the deposit i guess means more then the customers. I have a child with life threating illnesses and now because of this I cant not book because I wont know if there is any hospitalizations that will arise. Shes disappointed because she loves this place. Salem waterfront hotel please rethink this. We have family that comes every year and now 4 rooms will not be booked by them. I think your customers should come first ..You could always find someone that will book the last minute. But as I said before its a nice clean pleace with wonderfull people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank autumn334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    433
    112
    43
    45
See reviews for
562
572
53
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family stayed here for the Fourth of July holiday. It was wonderful. The food at the hotel's restaurant was the best of any of the surrounding places. We discovered this and only ate at the hotel for the rest of our stay. The location of the hotel next to the fireworks was the absolute perfect place to be. We walked over from our room and walked back after the show. No stress!

Room Tip: The hotel is not directly on the water so don't be disappointed with the view. The rooms are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My sister and I spent three nights at the Salem Waterfront Hotel on our recent trip to Salem, MA and the expeirence was great. The hotel room was very clean and spacious, the employees were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel's location is convient to all areas of interest.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying at the hotel during the month of October, book the room early - they sell out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
326 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel is not cheap, but rooms are spacious, air-conditioning/heating efficient and bathrooms quite satisfactory. Staff are helpful and pleasant and the hotel is beautifully situated - however............we were given Room 217 (to be avoided at all costs!) right next to the elevator and very close to the ice-machine. The elevator wasn't too much of a problem, but the ice-maker really was, blasting us with its powerful roar every five minutes throughout the night. As we retired late, it was not realistic to ask for a room change at one o'clock in the morning. Needless to say, next day,we were exhausted. This is such a pity, as we have stayed in this hotel before and found it very comfortable.
If rooms are (a) near elevators and/or (b) near ice machines, those rooms should be sound-proofed, or other suitable areas made available for such dominant machines. At present, a thin stud wall separates Room 217 from the elevator and obviously, all those equivalent rooms on other floors would be particularly noisy for guests who should specify that they wish to sleep in a quiet room - unfortunately, we forgot to do this, so our lack of sleep at this hotel must be our fault!

Room Tip: Not Room 217 (and probably 117, 317 etc,etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Last year my parents got me a trip so Salem, unfortunately it was on a bus, so we had to stay outside of Salem. We decided to come back after seeing the Salem Waterfront Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and has a great bar/restaurant. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The pool looked really nice even though we did not use it. The staff was also great! If we come back to Salem we will definitely being staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretCritic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Wonderful hotel! The location is right in the middle of the action in downtown Salem...clean, nicely appointed rooms and a conscientious and welcoming staff. The food in the Regatta Pub was also outstanding! This was our second time staying here over Haunted Happenings weekend just before Halloween and i cannot emphasize enough what a wonderful stay we had!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

While we only stayed for a night at the Salem Waterfront Hotel, we were wishing we A. Had more time to spend here and B. didn't have a hurricane upon us. We were in Salem the day before Hurricane Irene hit, so our visit was brief, but the hotel was wonderful.

It is a fabulous central location for Salem, made walking through the town easy knowing the hotel was close. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cookies and crab cakes were waiting for patrons as they came and went from the hotel. Parking was no problem.

The room was very nice. We stayed in a room overlooking the town. 2 queen beds, very clean, nice bathroom too.

The restaurant was out of our price range (we were traveling with 2 young children), but the staff was able to help us find great nearby eateries.

Overall, would stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smm648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,931 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing