We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful city! We plan to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Williston, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful city! We plan to return.”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We spent two nights at the Salem Waterfront Hotel and the only problem was we hadn't planned to stay longer. We loved everything about our stay - room, service, location, restaurant. I'm a personal fitness trainer and would have liked a better equipped fitness room but this is a hotel, not a health club. We would highly recommend this hotel and Salem is a very tourist-friendly city worth visiting.

Room Tip: Call to make a reservation and make your request directly with the person you are speaking with. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Larry,

What a great review! It is great to see that you enjoyed everything that the Salem Waterfront has to offer. We do have a fitness facility as well as a indoor pool both of which get used often by guests looking to stay active while away from home. We hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    426
    110
    43
    43
See reviews for
552
566
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed with my family for 1 night to see Historic Salem. Hotel is in a great location, walk to everything. Near restaurants and docks. Staff was very nice and friendly. Regatta Pub had great food. Nice swimming pool for kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear John,

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed staying with us while discovering Salem! It is true that we are walking distance to Pickering Wharf as well as all of the restaurants in Downtown Salem. I'm glad that you got a chance to utilize the indoor pool!

Best regards,

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were very pleased with the hotel. Nice, big rooms with all the amenities; great location. Food at the Regatta Pub was average at best -- I have a feeling they had some kitchen issues the morning we dined there as the waitresses seemed a bit stressed (but still provided good service). The food issue is the only reason I didn't rate them Excellent. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blumeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This hotel in the heart of Salem was a great find. Located near the waterfront, it was a relaxing place with a real attention to detail. The staff was as friendly as they were professional; lemonade and cookies were a welcome daily treat; our room was immaculate and we could walk to all the attractions. If we ever journey to Salem again, we'd definitely stay here. They even upgraded (they offered) our reservation to a mini-suite at no extra charge. They exemplify what hospitality should be about!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank doodles202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Arrived early and the Staff were able to allow us to check in early. The Hotel was very welcoming and the room was excellent. It is a great location so easy to walk to the restaurants and bars in Salem. This was a great value Hotel and we were so pleased we stayed here. All of the staff we spoke to were very helpful even to the point that the lady on reception called ahead to the Holiday Inn in Cape Cod for us because of Hurricane Irene.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kmc747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Kmc747: Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Marina. It is great to hear that we were able to check you in early before our standard check in time of 3:00pm. We are one of the only hotels in the area that offers a standard 3:00pm check in time. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our excellent location, right in the heart of Salem. We truly are walking distance to all of the great shops, restaurants, and attractions in our great city! We hope to see you soon!!

Jonathan Arruda
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Had read all the reviews before deciding that I would book a three night stay, on the basis that maybe grumpy people get the grumpy welcome. Personally found the hotel absolutely lovely. The lobby is cool and welcoming. The afternoon home baked cookies and lemonade went down a treat with the children. Not only is there two ipads in the lobby for guest use (over 16's) but there is a small room with two computers and a printer for your use. The reception also kindly booked our airline seats and printed off our return boarding passes.
Unfortunately arrived just as a bride arrived for her reception, and her guests had all packed the lobby to welcome her. Ryan on the front desk remained calm and unflappable despite the level of noise, and me checking that our bedroom was going to be away from the noise level. Unfortunately we had been placed right above the ballroom, and the party was due to end at middnight, so he sorted a lower category room - opposite end of the hotel, on the fourth floor, and it was lovely and quiet.
The rooms are well appointed and well cleaned. We had two double beds - one was obviously newer and was really comfy, and the other was older, with springs going ping in the night. Plenty of pillows and a good working air-conditioning unit.
Nice new ipod docking alarm clock, with a remote - which unfortunately didn't work, and despite pressing a variety of helpfull buttons on it - we couldn't stop the alarm going off at 6.30am which the previous clever person had set it to.
Ryan was still on the front desk in the morning, and aplogised for it, and would arrange for housekeeping to sort - and gave us a $20 credit for breakfast. (Thank you - eggs benedict were superb).
The following morning at 6.30am we discovered the machine had obviously got the better of housekeeping - as it still could not be turned off - and the battery compartment is screwed in - so that didn't help. In the end we took the offending alarm clock down to reception.
There is a small pool which is great for the kids to cool down in after a hard days pacing round Salem. Plenty of towels down there and a shower to clean off afterwards.
The staff were wonderful - and if asked, would happily recommend which things in Salem should be visited, gave us copies of the train schedules for Boston as the ferry was not working that day where to eat ... where to get ice cream.
I would recommend staying at this hotel and would not hesitate to return should I ever visit Salem again. The only downside (apart from our friend the alarm clock) was the staff in the restaurant - they were more keen in the morning to be sorting out who was going to take their break, than serving customers, got items on the bills muddled up, had to go up and ask for glasses of water, and plates all arrived at different times.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get special web prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bovills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Bovillis55: Thank you for writing a review that is chock full of great information regarding your recent stay with us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed not only the iPADs and computers, but the freshly baked cookies and lemonade that we have waiting for all of our valued guests each afternoon! I am happy to see that Ryan was able to remedy the initial situation regarding the level of noise you experienced and he was able to place you in a quiet room on the top floor. All of our rooms have soundproofing material between each of the rooms to soften any noise a guest may experience. We have since removed that pesky alarm clock and replaced it with a new iPOD docking station and I sincerely apologize for the early morning alarm. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback regarding your restaurant experience with our Food & Beverage team. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
293 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I hesitated when coming to Salem between staying a bit out of town in a cheaper hotel, but decided to stay centrally, which worked out much better. There isn't that much to see in Salem, and it is all within a 10 min walk of the Salem Waterfront Hotel, so it made for a much more relaxed stay than trying to find parking.

I ended up upgrading our room because we needed more space, there was one adult and three teenage boys, we ended up in a one bedroom suite and it was fantastic. The bedroom was big, with a king size bed, its own air conditioning and TV, big enough that we were able to move the round table that sits 4, that was in the other room, into the bedroom (the kids played computer on the table).

The living room had a queen size pullout bed in front of another TV and also its own air conditioning. It had a fridge/ sink/ microwave, and a lot of space - I ended up inflating another mattress, two teenagers slept in the king size bed, one in the pullout bed, and I slept on the inflatable bed (long story...).

There was cookies and juice late afternoon, coffee available first thing in the morning, the kids enjoyed the pool, the internet speed was good, the staff helpful. The business centre is a misnomer, it is a counter that has been set up in a hallway off the lobby, with two computers, it really has no privacy, and not a lot of space.

And either the restaurant is too small for the hotel, or we just happened to arrive at the exact time when it was very busy, but we were told when we came down the next morning that there was a 20 minutes wait for a table for breakfast, so that was disappointing.

But overall, it was a good choice, the proximity to everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,902 reviews
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
16.1 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing