We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back! Often!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We found this hotel online and selected it for the amenities and pricing. Ryan was extremely helpful in assisting us through the reservations process. The front desk staff was genuinely warm and welcoming upon check-in, and able to direct us to local restaurants, attractions, and activities that made this a memorable trip. Ashley also gave us a 25% discount when she found out we were staying in Salem for "Out Night."
Our package included a daily breakfast at the Regatta Pub downstairs at the hotel. The food was great and Lori was excellent. Steve poured generous drinks, and Wendy made us feel like we were part of the family. These people are in the hospitality industry, so it makes sense that they are friendly and outgoing. However, the sincerity with which they approach this work shows great pride and genuine concern for the happiness of their guests. We will be back! Often!

Room Tip: Contact Hotel reservations directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AdamandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Adam & James: It is great to see that you had a pleasant stay with us during Salem's first annual "Out Night" celebration. Our central location to all of Salem's attractions and restaurants make us a great choice for any celebration!! Your tip about contacting us directly for reservations is a great tip for Salem Waterfront guests! Not only do we get to know our guests prior to them arriving, but we offer special rates and packages all year long, with some of them not available on our website! We are glad that you will be coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,485 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

After looking on-line for a place to stay close to Beverly, MA, we chose the Waterfront Inn.
We were so pleased with everything. The price was right - the staff was very friendly and accommodating - but most important to us was how clean and well-kept everything is...from our room, to the pool, lobby! HIGHLY recommend. I hope we have a chance to go back!

Room Tip: We had end room and great view of marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lvien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love seeing 5 stars across the board. Our Housekeeping and Engineering teams work very hard to keep our public areas and guest rooms in pristine condition and they were certainly glad to hear your feedback! We do hope you get the chance to come back and stay with us as well! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Front desk and restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are pleasant, clean and comfortable. I have stayed in other hotels and inns in this and nearby towns and this is by far the best.

New showerheads would be nice as these tend to splash.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Avi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to to review your recent stay with us. We are certainly glad to hear that you think that we are the best hotel in the area!! I have shared your feedback regarding the shower heads with our Engineering Department and we are currently researching a solution to the splashing situation that you experienced. We hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The main purpose of our trip was to visit my brother and his family in Marblehead. This is a very convenient location. Our room was very comfortable, terrific size and very clean. There are a few restaurants very close by and the city itself is very clean and inviting. The hotel was very busy when we were there, and therefore the service for breakfast was somewhat slow, but the food was still quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bkmfm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Let me just start out by saying that we are very happy to hear that you will be coming back after your recent stay with us! Many guests choose to stay with us for our central location, not only in Salem, but to all of the attractions on Boston's North Shore! I have shared your feedback regarding the speed of service in our restaurant with our Food & Beverage team and they are currently working with the staff to expedite the food in a more timely fashion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

we stayed here as part of a wedding weekend.

while everything was independently nice (room, location), there just didn't seem to be any one theme throughout the experience to say that we had a nice time. it started off that with the wedding group, the hotel was not very accommodating in terms of the block that was originally negotiated. while this could have been a mis-communication with the couple organizing the event, it took us about 3 times to book the hotel room and reflected poorly on the hotel.

once at the hotel, which has a nice lobby with afternoon snacks (lemonade, cookies) and iPads docked in stations, we just never felt truly welcomed or comfortable at the hotel.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank misstrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old son in April. The facility is wonderful, room was lovely. However...there were people in the pool who were clearly drunk and had their kids in the pool...come to find out by speaking to them that they were not even guests of the hotel!!! They used the pass of someone who lives in the condos there. Also, there were extremely loud guests running around, banging doors and wreaking havoc well past 1 AM...waking up my son multiple times. I complained at the time, as well as check out and was given a very small reduction in my rate, but I was satisfied, especially when the manager told me to call the next time I wanted to visit, so that I could make sure we would have a good experience. Well imagine my surprise when I call today to make reservations for my anniversary and was told that there is the biggest wedding of the year that weekend, so it would not be a good time for us to come. WHAT??? How about checking to see if there were rooms available away from the wedding party? How about SOMETHING to make me feel like you paid attention when I explained how my last experience was ruined??? Nope, just a "not a good time to stay here." Lovely. I will NEVER book there again. And seeing as I always recommend a good place highly to my many business and personal contacts, I will be CERTAIN to steer them away from this place...unless they are getting married, since apparently that's the only time customer service seems to matter!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tm2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jda192, Manager at Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review of your recent experiences with us. On behalf of the entire team here at the Salem Waterfront Hotel, I would like to personally apologize for the two less than accectable experiences that you had with us. This is by no means the experience that we strive to provide our guests with. Please contact me at 978-619-1100 or via email at jarruda@salemwaterfronthotel.com and I will personally handle your reservation request and make sure that your next experience with us is truly a Salem Waterfront experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for business on and off for the past 6 months. It is hands down much better than any other option in the area. The rooms are very nice with great quality amenities. The staff provide exceptional levels of service. This is an excellent value in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bonniepatmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
12 reviews
3.5 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
3.1 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites

Address: 225 Derby St, Pickering Wharf, Salem, MA 01970-5145 (Formerly The Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $137 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising six stories, the Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites on Pickering Wharf Marina blends a contemporary outlook with an appreciation for the area's proud past. It is Salem's newest boutique hotel with a warm nautical décor. The 86 rooms and suites have handsome wood furnishings, fabrics in soothing shades and windows that let in lots of light. Look for flat-panel TVs with cable channels, pillowtop beds and high-end Keurig coffeemakers. There are complimentary wired and wireless internet connections available throughout the property, and loaner iPads are available in the lobby. Local calls are free, as are morning newspapers in lobby. It is the only hotel downtown Salem with a heated indoor pool, and the fitness room is packed with cardio and strength-training equipment. Specializing in locally caught seafood, the on-site restaurant, The Regatta Pub, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for a "Cool and Casual Fare with Flair". In warmer weather, the tables spill out onto the patio and on cooler nights we have roaring firepits for guests to relax and enjoy a beverage or meal next to. Laundry service is a plus and Parking is always free. Our doormen will be most happy to assist with luggage assistance. LOCATION: With more than 300 years of history just outside the front door, the Salem Waterfront Hotel is a great base for exploring. The hotel sits at Pickering Wharf, close to lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Within walking distance are attractions like the Peabody Essex Museum and the historic Phillips House. Boston Logan International Airport is 15 miles southwest and Boston is 20 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salem Waterfront Hotel And Marina
Salem Waterfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing