We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and great service”
Review of Opus

Opus
Ranked #21 of 232 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really like their attitude here. We've come for dinner, we came with friends and kids, we've come and just had appetizers and drinks. We always get friendly service and great food, no matter what. Their prices seem surprisingly good to me for the quality of the menu (I mean, it isn't cheap, but it isn't a bank breaker either.)

I strongly recommend checking out the lounge in the basement. There aren't enough proper lounges in town, but this one definitely meets the qualifications!

The menu is largely small plates, and the servings are appropriate, in my eyes, which I think means some people will find the servings small. But it is a great setup for exploring some different dishes and sharing. Definitely a favorite place for me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    49
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Trendy new spot in Salem - vegetarian friendly”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We ate here on a Friday night around 9pm. Opus was exactly what we expected - fun and trendy with a lively dinner scene. The menu is organized by proteins and there are small plates as well as traditional entree options. We chose several small plates to share. The vegetarian sushi was tasty, but completely fell apart. It is so messy that this is not a dish to share with anyone other than your significant other because it turned into a shared rice bowl! They were out of the ravioli and our server recommended the beet salad as a substantial alternative. I was skeptical, but he was right!

Downstairs had a surprising lounge style bar, but was empty when we were there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, OK food at bar”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The bar and restaurant had a lively vibe. We ordered a few plates of sushi and other apps which were fine. The bar service was really poor though - slow and not very attentive. For example, it took a long time to get menus, our dirty dishes sat in front of us for most of our time there, and it took awhile to cash out. They didn't look shortstaffed, just the staff didn't appear to be keeping an eye on details. The food came from the kitchen fast and was hot though. The downstairs is a comfortable bar area but the music was really loud for such a small space.

Helpful?
Thank Napalicoastkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Dinner on Halloween”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I just moved to Salem and wanted to find somewhere I could enjoy dinner on Halloween night. I stumbled upon Opus and found a spot at the bar. I was astonished at the extensive menu and everything sounded delicious. I started with the Porcelain Pumpkin martini (heaven in a glass) and ordered the Filet Mignon on a bed of Lobster Bacon Mashed Potatoes with a side of Tempura asparagus. The meal was absolutely OUTSTANDING. It is rare where I clear the entire plate and I couldn't help myself. Service was also great. I can't wait to return again while I am living down the street!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and nice staff!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I just love this place! I have to say Penny is a great manager and I know she is only hear once in a while as she works in a few locations she is one of the Best ! The food is fresh and you can eat hear if you are a vegetarian ! Thank you again for great service !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrowHavenCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing