We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical food experiance in the witch city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opus

Opus
Ranked #21 of 231 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical food experiance in the witch city”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is one of my favorites the staff is accomidating and the menu is extensive and it's all delicious the chicken and waffles are my favorite along with the curry potato samosas. I will come here often for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DemetriusLacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    49
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wanted it to be better”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ok so I would have given it 3 stars but we only had 1 small plate and the paella so we will try it again with more people to get a better sample.

The restaurant is very cool with a big L shaped bar at the center of the room. This is a great date place or gathering place for a group.

We had 3 drinks, all were tasty but weak. My wife had 2 and she would normally have felt them but not here.

We had the beet salad which we would not get again $11. Beets were under-seasoned and the total dish was forgettable.

The paella was on the verge of great $28. The rice was cooked perfectly with bits of chorizo, very tasty. There was too much rice compared to the seafood. The dish needed some scallops or more shrimp. We shared this as our entre and there was plenty.

3 drinks, 1 small plate and the paella with tip was $88. Not bad but we were expecting more.

Service at the bar was ok. At most every high end bar I eat at you are given a napkin as a place mat or something.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SALEM_JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
957 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Addition To The Salem Dining Scene”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Opus is a terrific new restaurant in downtown Salem. We had dinner, but noted that the bar seemed lively. Opus offers small plates, and the biggest problem is selecting from a number of excellent choices. We concentrated on vegan and vegetarian choices, of which there were many. Particularly impressive were the vegan roll and the cheese empanadas. The drinks were strong, and the service was very good. We will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere,good varied menu”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The venue has a lively buzz, great for social get togethers. The concept of small plates is casual, some plates are good and others not so much.The polenta fries and tempura asparagus were well excellent however the vegetable terrine did not look appetizing nor was it. The polenta with mushrooms and truffle oil was nice but the polenta was about 2 inches in diameter for $9 with about 6 slices of mushrooms. Some plates are hit and miss.
They also have a loyalty card which helps repeat business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“New Favorite”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice. Great concept. Nothing else like it in the area. Beautifully prepared and presented small plates, almost too pretty to eat. Very clever menu. Great bar upstairs and a second one downstairs in a coffeehouse atmosphere. Very hip without snobbery. I hope they keep up the high quality. Please Opus, don't slack off now that we all love you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing