We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast!!”
Review of Nathaniel's

Nathaniel's
Ranked #22 of 235 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Walking distance from the Salem MBTA commuter rail station.
Description: Nat's serves a modern European-influenced cuisine in a historic setting. Enjoy a romantic dinner, or unwind after a busy day in Salem and try out our local cheeses, seafood and meats, while sipping on your favorite wines. Wine enthusiasts will enjoy our wine by the glass flights to compliment or contrast your palate, while a selection of specialty Ales is paired with our menu for those looking for a more robust beer experience.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great personal attention and service. Very small and quaint and the food was delicious. We only had breakfast there but they do offer a dinner discount for hotel guests. I was pleasantly surprised by the food since we were in a hotel and its usually mediocre at best. This was a very good breakfast and the presentation was also nice. I would recommend this restaurant and the eggs benedict too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear ErikaAZ,

Thank you for your review of Nathaniel’s. As a fine dining restaurant, we strive for excellent food and welcoming service. We make all our breakfast items from scratch including the wonderful Hollandaise sauce on our eggs Benedict. I’m pleased you enjoyed dining with us, and am happy to pass along your compliments to our Chef.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    62
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clutton
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a great meal with super service. Friendly and helpful but not rushed. 20% discount if you stay in the hotel which also made it very good value. Food well cooked and they have Demi portions which were just the right size!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Pammie56,

Thank you for your review of Nathaniel’s. I’m pleased that you enjoyed dining with us, and will be certain to pass along your compliments to our wait staff and our Chefs.

Sometimes we do offer our in-house guests a special “deal” so if you are staying with us, be sure to keep this in mind.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother with brunch”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Meh. Jazz brunch was fussy and expensive with a limited menu. My Bloody Mary was nothing special. Don't bother. Better food at better prices elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jo C:

Thank you for writing to us here on TripAdvisor about your disappointing brunch experience. While generally our guests are very happy with our Sunday Jazz Brunch, it can happen on occasion that someone does not feel that what we offer is for them.

The pricing for this special meal obviously will be more expensive than a comparable meal at a restaurant that does not have live entertainment as part of it, so the cost-value proposition for you might mean that you were more interested in just being able to eat a nice meal, rather than enjoying a relaxing Sunday Jazz Brunch experience, with the attendant entertainment.

I would appreciate hearing back from you directly about your experience, so we can learn your thoughts, especially about the kinds of items you had hoped to find on the menu. If you could possibly call me at 978-744-4080 and ask for my extension I would enjoy talking with you.

On another note, we are very grateful for your lovely review of your hotel stay on our main Hawthorne Hotel page, and we do appreciate the time and effort you put in to writing both reviews for us.

Sincerely,

Juli

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nathaniel's”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was staying at the Hawthorne Hotel and wanted a late evening snack/meal my first night there. I ordered a salad which was very nice, and decided to return the following evening for dinner. The food is very high quality with modern eclectic twists, and there is a congenial pianist on Friday and Saturday nights...lovely atmosphere....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 74tamacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear margherita a,

Thank you for your review of Nathaniel’s. I’m pleased that you enjoyed dining with us, and that the salad you ordered on your first night brought you back to us the following evening. As a top-rated fine dining restaurant in Salem, we pride ourselves on offering guests excellent service and a fantastic menu. I’ll be certain to pass along your lovely compliments to our Chefs, as well as to the pianist who plays for us on the weekends.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local favorite that won't disappoint”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Spent out 11th anniversary dinner here tonight and was not disappointed. we've been several times before and can never say anything bad about this place. service is prompt and courteous. meal presentation and quality is outstanding. we never felt rushed. good selection of main courses and wine list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmdatc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthorneHotelGM, General Manager at Nathaniel's, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear rmdatc1,

Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend this special occasion with us, and for taking the time to write such a warm review of Nathaniel’s. I’m pleased that you enjoyed such a lovely anniversary dinner with us.

As someone who has dined with us before, I’m sure you know that we strive to offer our guests great service and a fantastic menu. I’m glad that we continue to hit the mark on both, and will be sure to pass along your kind words to our wait staff and Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm wishes,

Juli Lederhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nathaniel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing