We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went to the village tavern after the antique boat show”
Review of Village Tavern

Village Tavern
Ranked #28 of 235 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual American Dining - excelling in Classic American/New England dishes, Seafood, and Smoked BBQ. Outdoor patio, Live Music, Game Room - with pool tables, darts, and retro video games. Excellent Food and a Great Price! Something to do Every night of the week. Ask about our Mug Club and Oyster Society!
new hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“went to the village tavern after the antique boat show”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

had a great day in salem mass going to the the antique boat show and then going on a trolley tour, then we went to the village tavern , jazz band was playing outside, we ate inside i got a cheeseburger and got exactly how i wanted it cooked , my wife got a mushroom burger and she said it was perfect, nothing fancy but exactly what i wanted

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geraldo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    112
    40
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amherst
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“helpful location”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We needed a break from viewing the art exhibits at the Peabody Essex museum. The cafe was mobbed so we went across the street to the Village Tavern . We were looking forward to Lobster rolls on this trip so were pleased they were on the menu. They were excellent. mostly lobster meat and little else. Service not perfect but the waiters looked like college kids and not professionals and so probably had other things on their minds

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance !”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Perfect before a tour ! Everything was great, from the wings to the burgers and the ribs. Great selection of beers too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie19692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food and service”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Pulled pork sweet and tender. Something to suit all tastes great service and food reasonably priced. $94 for family of 4 with 4 alcoholic drinks for adults!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank family f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“nice for drinks in the evening”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

After shopping on Essex St., we walked by a water feature/ fountain and saw this place next it. There's a cool looking flame artsy thing at the entrance. We sat out front under umbrella tables. It's in a pedestrian area. The crowd was young and it was kinda busy for a Thursday night. We tried Absinthe, but didn't see any green fairies! Good place for a date. Our waitress was nice, but struggled to come up with mixed drink suggestions when my friend didn't want anything from the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing