We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Tavern

Village Tavern
Ranked #28 of 231 Restaurants in Salem
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual American Dining - excelling in Classic American/New England dishes, Seafood, and Smoked BBQ. Outdoor patio, Live Music, Game Room - with pool tables, darts, and retro video games. Excellent Food and a Great Price! Something to do Every night of the week. Ask about our Mug Club and Oyster Society!
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I ducked inside and were pleasantly surprised about the nicely decorated tavern. The waiter was very attentive and the food was good. I would eat here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tommyj0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    107
    39
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, CT
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good food right in the middle of the tourist area”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate a late lunch/early dinner here on a day trip to Salem. My son picked this restaurant because they had burgers. We had a burger, pulled pork platter, beef brisket burrito and fried fish platter. Everything was excellent! Service was slow as others have said but if you have time it is worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lthomas175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Enough said, it was a great spot, very well placed on the trail for us hungry tourist, the food and the service were great!

Our servers name was Lisa :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
282 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Gets 4 stars for food, service would be 3 stars”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The lobster rolls were great!! So were the potato skins and clam chowder soup. Large menu with a lot of choices. Service was quite slow and place seemed understaffed. Our server was good, just to many tables for one server in my opinion. Good beer selection as well. I would must likely go back for another lobster roll!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsoleary928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“what is the hold up?”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

On a sweltering day this was the closest restaurant to the Peabody Essex Museum, so we ducked inside. After an expected 15 minute wait to be seated, it took the waiter 15 minutes to bring us water and 20 more minutes to come back and take our order. After having been in the restaurant for an hour, we finally received our food, which tasted fine, but not as it was described. No one ever refilled our water. Many other people were unhappy as well. I would not go back to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olivialeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing