We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mighty Have Fallen”
Review of Bella Verona

Bella Verona
Ranked #20 of 232 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Mighty Have Fallen”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have been a long time patron of Bella Verona. It's been our "go-to" Italian restaurant. The food was always great and worth the very cramped environment.

However, in the past few months, something has changed. We had 2 terrible meals (one was for a birthday). The salad looked like it came out of a bag. A veal main course was tasteless. There was a vegetable side that was inedible and seemed like it came out of a can (everyone at the table concurred). The pasta was bland beyond belief -- it took more than salt and pepper to revive it.

It's honestly like there's a new chef or something else dramatic. We're very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I am very sorry for your bad experience at Bella Verona. We are in our 19th year in Salem and we are proud to have the same chef. We pride ourselves on authentic Italian food from the Veneto region. I only wish you would have said something while you were at the restaurant so we could have remedied your complaints. It is very surprising for us that everything was so bad and you did not say anything.Our motto is ,tell us if you are unhappy and tell everyone else if you are happy. Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    87
    34
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Service/Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This tiny restaurant proved to be a big surprise. We chose this restaurant, based on the recommendation of a local. We had an appetizer special, Eggplant & Shrimp. My son had never had eggplant before and absolutely loved it. We both had the chicken entrée special - also, excellent. The food was such a pleasant surprise, that my 12 year old son asked that we return the next night for dinner. We did! Our waitresses, Alex and Christine, were extremely professional and provided prompt service. They greeted us with a smile and made some excellent recommendations. Overall, an wonderful dining experience both in food and service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of our restaurant. We are so lucky to have clients like yourselves.After 19 years of serving the North Shore we never tire of compliments. Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Solid food and good service, reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Right across from the the historic Hawthorne Hotel, Bella Verona is a small (27 seats), well run establishment. We made a reservation for a party of 7 and our table was waiting when we arrived. Small room with high ceilings, the seating was a little tight. An eclectic mix of wall art, pictures and ornaments were eye catching but over done. Food was solid Italian. All the staples done well. Two servers and one bus person work the entire place. Reasonably priced, portions decent sized. Beer and wine only.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DaddyFatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate our wonderful location in front of The Hawthorne Hotel and the possibility of serving the guests one of our homemade Italian meals?
Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Service, food, atmosphere AAA+”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We made reservations... We were on time and they seated us on time... There was a line waiting so reservations were Important !! Greeted at the door they took our coats. The servers( 3) all said hello and told us their names... The maine server made great suggestions and examined the specials, then made some accommodating changes so we could combine two entrees because it all sounded so delicious. The food was fantastic from the soup and salad all the way to desert... The service and food was all very very good ... I highly recommend this restaurant !!

Helpful?
1 Thank RMHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the stellar review.We have enjoyed hosting the people who come to our restaurant for 19 years. We always love to welcome back repeating visitors. We hope to see you soon. Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Salem Treasure”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Bella Verona was one of those places and my husband and I had always been meaning to try but never did. For his birthday last month, we finally did—and couldn’t imagine why we hadn’t discovered this cozy trattoria sooner. It’s the kind of restaurant that every community should have. We made a reservation but clearly didn’t need to. The frigid February temps, coupled with the midweek date just days before Valentine’s Day, kept most people away.

The menu is huge: I can’t imagine how such a small restaurant can maintain it. We ended up choosing specials off the small blackboard that the server brought after we sat down. Our appetizer was a perfectly cooked shrimp dish. My entrée was lamb ravioli; hubby chose linguini carbonara. Both were spot on. The flavor of the lamb filling was distinctive without being overwhelming, and the sauce complemented it perfectly. My husband’s pasta, cooked exactly al dente, was coated with a silky, beautifully seasoned sauce. We each had a different glass of wine following the excellent recommendations of the server. For dessert we shared a crème caramelle pudding, a lovely ending to a beautiful meal.

The only points I would take off would be for (a) the dim lighting, which made reading the printed menu really difficult; (b) tacky salt and pepper shakers on the table; and (c) the need for us to tell the young man who took our order to slow down and speak more clearly while explaining the specials. Bella Verona is now on our A-list of restaurants, and I’d heartily recommend it to residents and tourists alike. Just bring your key-chain flashlight to read the regular menu by Or stick to the blackboard specials; you won't go wrong.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LPLimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila m, Owner at Bella Verona, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again in the future.It is so nice to receive compliments about our staff.giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Verona also viewed

 

Been to Bella Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing