We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint but excellent Italian dining in historic Salem, MA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Verona

Bella Verona
Ranked #22 of 229 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quaint but excellent Italian dining in historic Salem, MA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good food and small size sets this eatery apart in Salem. Near the downtown and within walking distance of everything.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    85
    34
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

When my husband asked where I wanted to go for my birthday dinner, I didn't hesitate to answer "Bella Verona"! He usually prefers a high end steakhouse. We had reservations for 7 and were about 15 minutes early. We were seated promptly. By 7:15, the place was packed & they had to turn people away. I highly recommend making a reservation. As usual, the food was delicious!!! The service seemed a little off tonight. Slow & not attentive but pleasant & knowledgeable as always. I wish it was closer because I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsomalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific Spot...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very small, family run Italian restaurant. It is hard to get reservations in the summer because it is popular and there aren't many tables. It is just like many of the small, family run places one finds in Italy. The food was terrific and the service outstanding. We will definitely return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwimMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Time-Tested Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Bella Verona is almost too good to be true. But having dined here for more than a decade, I can say that it has never missed a step. It's like visiting an elegant, cozy home in Northern Italy that's tucked cozily into downtown Salem MA. Service is impeccable. Staff anticipate your wishes and are warm and attentive. My spouse and I savored an outstanding dinner last night: the olive tapenade with olive oil and a subtle touch of anchovies, spread on warm bread. Appetizers: grilled polenta topped with succulent shrimp and spicy tomato sauce, plus baked artichokes. Dinners: linguine tossed with calamari and scallops in lemon-flavored olive oil; veal stew with pappardelle pasta. Desserts: panna cota with raspberry sauce and homemade cannoli. Occasionally, rare treats appear on the menu: our favorites, rabbit ragout and veal oso bucco. In a city of many restaurants, this one is a priceless gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annie279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Convivial Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stopped by the night of Hurricane Sandy - - the place was completely empty (so many people had cancelled their reservations due to the storm). As soon as we sat down, the power went out; and the staff did not miss a beat. The owner came out and charmed us as only a true Italian man can, all the while feeding us the most exquisite pumpkin ravioli and veal with mushrooms... The tiramisu was the best I've ever eaten - the marscapone cheese was perfection! It was a truly memorable evening, charming on all fronts!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pegava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Verona also viewed

 

Been to Bella Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing