We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Really Neat B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Haven, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Really Neat B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

I stayed at the Morning Glory B&B in Salem, MA for a weekend in May - the 18th-21st. The rate at that time was $125/night.

The Morning Glory is a really great B&B - and totally non-smoking. The room I had was spacious and very clean with a TV in the room, as well as one in the common room which was comfortable and had many amenities available.

The Morning Glory is located on a quiet street, about ½ block up from the water and right across from the House of Seven Gables. It is within walking distance of all the sites in Salem proper, and less than 5 minutes from Pickering Wharf.

The owner, Bob Shea, is very personable and friendly. Bob takes pride sharing his home with his guests. His baked breakfast breads were really great.

If I were in Salem for any extended time, I would most certainly go back to the Morning Glory.

Helpful?
2 Thank Abydos555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    54
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
119
789
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

Bob, the owner, is a congenial host (as are his parents who were acting as surrogates while he was gone). The setting is convenient to all the tourist sights and restaurants, and the bed and pillows are very comfy. Moreover, the continental breakfast is quite satisfying. I highly recommend this B&B to people who like to be near the water and walk to tourist destinations...L. fr. PA

Helpful?
1 Thank JGLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

This bed and breakfast has it all. Wonderfull hosts (Bob and Mary-anne) made us so welcome we didn't want to leave. The room was a great size, very comfortable bed and spotless. The rooftop decking is a splendid place to spend an afternoon or evening with a nice glass of wine and a book (or some company). Its location is just perfect to explore Salem by foot and if you want information on the local area then Bob is your man.
It deserves its number 1 spot on this website.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calimerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

Without a reservation we, party of 4, stumbled upon a lovely bed & breakfast that we could recommend to anyone, who is looking for friendly, meticulously maintained, tastefully decorated
rooms. The beds are great, the breakfast was wonderful and the top floor deck with oceanview is a great place to wind down after a day of sightseeing. By the way, you're only steps away from Salem's harbor and historic walking trail. There's nothing not to like. Check it out on the web!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank xirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

We happened on the Morning Glory B&B although we planned to make only a quick day stop in Salem. We had a great room - loved the decor throughout the house. Bob was a wonderful host, very accomodating to our needs. We'd certainly travel from Louisiana to stay there again.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Momnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

My fiancé and I recently had a pleasant nights stay at the Morning Glory. We decided not to arrange sleeping accommodations for our trip which can sometimes be a bit stressful. We saw this B&B while visiting the House of Seven Gables. After seeing the sites we decided that it would be a hassle to leave town to find a place to stay. So we called were happy to hear from Bob (the host/owner) that there was a room available since it's a busy time of year.

We stayed in the Sarah Good Room which is on the top floor, it's quite large, and the bed was quite comfortable. It was also very quite. There is also an observation deck where you can sit out and stargaze on a warm summer night.

We arrived at breakfast pretty late, but all the items were quite tasty. It was a bit on the 'continental' side, but still quite satisfying. I guess we are bit spoiled in this area.

We would stay there again and recommend it to others as well.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank backeastagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

Stayed for one night with visiting family during Memorial Day weekend. This place is so centrally located near all the main historic attractions of old Salem Village that it really cannot be beat! You can walk everywhere.
While the rooms were not exactly my taste, I never-the- less found them very tasteful and really admire our host Bob's committment to a decor that can be described as sunny romantic with a bit of country Victorian. For the most part the rooms were spacious, clean, and well-stocked with the exception of the common area adjoining the Sara Good Room (which it should be noted Bob had not initially intended for our use, but very graciously invited us to stretch out in). The room includes a pull-out sofa which could stand a good cleaning inside and out. Something tells me that room -- stocked as it is with a tv, dvd, small fridge, and board games -- sees a lot of happy use by families with small children!
I was somewhat surprised by the breakfast- which is continental. Breakfast is my favorite meal and I was expecting...well, more! But that said, the entire meal service, the table setting, atmosphere, and guests, were just superb! During our meal Bob sat and chatted with us before we were joined by two other parties of guests, whom we also got to talk with. Getting to know people from other places is half the fun of staying at B&Bs, I guess that's why I was expecting something more to the breakfast. As it was, Bob made a lovely fruit salad and served it with cold home-baked fruit breads that his mom bakes for him. (What a nice mom!) He offers a pamphlet with several of her recipes for a dollar.
Bob grew up in the area and is a master when it comes to knowing all the spots to visit in Salem. To be honest, I was content to just stay at the inn, sunning on the third-floor's roof deck and watching the boats from this wonderful vantage point as they ranged so picturesquely along the Salem Harbor.
One tip: If you're on the roof deck and it has rained recently, be careful not to sit in the water that puddles onto the patio table's chairs from the umbrella! Just one of the "dangers" of having a deck patio I guess!
If you're traveling to Salem, stay at the Morning Glory. You'll be glad you did!

  • Liked — The roof deck
  • Disliked — A little noisy out on the street at night (Could hear conversations of passerby). Easily solvable by turning on the room's AC unit.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring snacks and drinks for late night canoodling on the deck.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suparran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Salem
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing