We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“I didn't want to leave”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My friend and I had the best time! Super cute. Very cozy and relaxing. Walking distance to everything. The owners were very welcoming. Very clean. All the amenities you need. Breakfast was amazing! And I bought the cutest little handmade witch as a fun souvenir. Looking forward to decorating next Halloween and thinking of the fond memories of catching up with my good friend at this perfect little place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Lisa and many thanks for posting such a wonderful review of you recent stay with us at Morning Glory! We are thrilled that you and your friend had the "best time"! We genuinely appreciated your very kind words and hope that you both can come and visit with us again to make more happy memories! Until that time we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    54
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
125
810
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a romantic night away and we certainly got it at the Morning Glory bed and breakfast! When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Bob and shown to our room, the Rebecca nurse suite. The entire place smelled of fresh baked bread and clean laundry (I would love to know the brand of detergent you use because EVERYTHING smelled great!). The room was more beautiful than we expected! From the fireplace, to the 4 post bed, to the "his" and "hers" chairs by the fireplace, it was so elegant! We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to check out but due to the FREEZING weather outside we did not want to venture very far. Needless to say, we made full use of the fireplace that night! The next morning we woke to the the delicious smell of Marcel making breakfast, pancakes with fresh fruit and nuts...fantastic! From start to end the entire experience was absolutely wonderful and we will certainly be visiting Bob and Marcel again (next time when it's a little warmer!). Thanks again for such a great weekend!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgobrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi guys and many thanks for your glowing review of your recent stay at Morning Glory! Indeed it was a very cold night here in Salem when you came to visit but we are thrilled that you found our home, and especially the fireplace in the Rebecca Nurse room, a warm and cozy retreat from the chilly weather! We appreciate very much your kind words with respect to the cleanliness of our home and also with respect to our home made breakfasts! You made our day! We send you both our very best and look forward to your return visit...in warmer weather! :)

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This beautiful serene bed and breadfast is the best place to stay in Salem. The warm welcome received from the graceous hosts Bob and Marcel was outstanding. I stayed with my granddaughter and her best friend. The two girls (teenagers) had the Sarah Goode suite and I stayed in the Elizabeth Howe room. The peaceful quiet setting with roof top deck and second floor private balcony was a great place to relax with a cup of tea. The herbal garden sprayed with flowers was gorgeous. The beauty and cleanliness of the rooms was outstanding. The homemade breakfast was superb. No need to drive once you arrive. Walking distance to everything. We stayed for five nights.

Room Tip: I loved ElizabethHowe with the private balcony..The girls loved the SaraGoode suite since they had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking time out to submit your terrific review to TripAdvisor! "beautiful", "serene", "peaceful", "quiet", "outstanding" - Wow, we thank you for your high praise! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you, your granddaughter and her best friend during your five day visit to Salem and to Morning Glory! It appears that in addition to having taken in the many wonderful sights this historic city has to offer, you were also able to take advantage of the many relaxing and serene areas to unwind at Morning Glory - the roof top deck with reclining chairs and ocean views; the shaded second floor balcony and the garden patio with flowers, herbs, shade trees and water fountain. Thank you for your many accolades and we certainly hope you can all come back to visit us again! We send you all our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed two nights in the Bridget Bishop room of the Morning Glory. It is a charming B+B in the heart of Salem's historic district, right on the water with convenient parking. The house is warm and cozy and lovely, and the bed was much more comfortable than you usually find in these "charming old" properties. Bob and Marcel were both so friendly and sweet and offered amazing, really special breakfasts in their beautiful dining room.

Although my room did not have a desk to work at, I felt totally comfortable taking my computer into the sitting room and working there -- and since this is not the kind of place people on business usually travel to (it's definitely a great spot for romantic getaway), I thought it was a great place to return to after a big day of meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaceBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Morning Glory! We are thrilled to read that you found your bed very comfortable and our home cozy; providing you with a restful nights sleep and a respite to unwind after your busy day of meetings. It was our pleasure to provide you with all of the comforts of your own home to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. We hope you get the opportunity to come and visit with us again and until that time, we send you our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The first thing for me is cleanliness, and this B&B is spotless! We stayed in the Rebecca Nurse room, which has a working fireplace for which our hosts generously supplied us with logs. We were within walking distance of everything Salem has to offer, although, because of the cold weather, we only ventured out once to walk to the Peabody Essex Museum. Morning Glory is on a dead end street right up from the water and steps away from the House of Seven Gables. We stayed for two days and had two wonderful breakfasts in the very sunny dining room. In the summer, you can walk up to the high deck from which you have a lovely view of the water. Bob and Marcel are friendly and informative and a delight to meet. I recommend this B&B highly.

Room Tip: If you want a large sunny space next to the third floor deck, stay in the suite--sitting room, bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Wow....what a lovely review and our thanks for taking time to post to TripAdvisor!! We are so happy that you appreciated, among other things, the cleanliness of our B&B! We work diligently every day to ensure a spotless environment inside and out and we are grateful that you noticed. The breakfast room, like most of the rooms in the B&B, are very light and airy providing lots of sunlight throughout the day. Thank you as well for your compliments on our home made breakfasts! We are delighted that you enjoyed the pancakes and the apple crisp! We do look forward to your return visit and until then, we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from Morning glory B&B. We had a great weekend. We loved our room at Morning Glory. The inn is so pretty and very , very clean. Yummy breakfast !! We enjoyed sitting by the fire in our room having wine in the evenings especially. There was a common room also located on the second floor , just right outside our room. It was so cozy ! There was coffee, tea available as well as sweets. We also loved being able to come & go through a second floor exit. The location was perfect. Bob and Marcel were amazing hosts and run a great inn. They are both so kind and welcoming. I loved staying here and look forward to our next trip to salem. There is a roof top deck calling me in warmer months to enjoy. I would not hesitate to book this lovely inn for our future visits to salem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindakathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Linda and our sincere thanks for your wonderful post to Tripadvisor! We very much enjoyed having you both stay with us for your three day get-away! The Rebecca Nurse room is indeed a very romantic room this time of year with its roaring fireplace to keep you warm at night. Thank you too Linda for your compliments all around!! We also look forward to your return visit in warmer weather so that you can take advantage of the roof top deck - enjoying the harbor views and cool ocean breezes! Until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stayed at morning glory on our honeymoon and it was the best experience. The owners were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is great. Right across the street from the house of seven gables, also try the cheese bread its delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaneq158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hello Shane and many thanks for your concise yet spot on review to TripAdvisor! We were very pleased to read that Morning Glory met every one of your expectations in order to provide you and your wife the "best experience" in a B&B! Hospitality - friendly & accommodating; cleanliness, comfort, location and breakfast - thumbs up! We truly appreciate your high praise Shane and we are equally happy that we helped provide an amazing honeymoon for you and your new bride! We send you both all our best and wish you all good things in your married life together! Please do come and visit with us again!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,933 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Salem
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing