We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in the Northeast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best B & B in the Northeast!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hello to Marcel and Bob!

We stayed at the Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast August 22-24th and we will be back! We picked this Inn because of the excellent rating it received on Trip advisor, we were not disappointed. This is one of the cleanest and welcoming places we have been to in a long while. We stayed in the Rebecca Nurse room; it was very comfortable and warm, just like home.
(Can I say clean again?)
The breakfasts we had were delicious and fresh, I still dream of the cheese bread!
We could not have asked for better hosts, Marcel & Bob are genuinely pleasant, nice people. They helped us find all the places of interest we could see in the short time we were there. I will gladly recommend this Inn to anyone traveling to Salem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello Rosa and thank you for your terrific review!! We are very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Morning Glory and that your very high standards with respect to cleanliness were met! Thank you too for your thumbs up on Marcel's cheese bread (he just pulled six loaves out of the oven as I type!)!! Please do come and visit with us again should you get the chance. Our very best to you!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    54
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
125
821
74
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I just traveled to Salem, MA with my sister, niece and daughter (ages 23 to 52). The Morning Glory Bed and Breakfast was everything I hoped it would be. The location was perfect, blocks from the ferry. Bob and Marcel were the perfect hosts. They were warm and welcoming. They were helpful in making reservations for dinner and helped us get to and from the ferry as well as making sure my niece had a cab waiting for her early Sunday morning. The B&B was the cleanest I have every stayed in and that is extremely important to me. Having a glass of wine on the rooftop overlooking the water was perfect. I would recommend this B&B to everyone and plan on returning someday with my husband.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma5759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Jayne and many thanks for posting your wonderful review to TripAdvisor! We are delighted that you and "the girls" enjoyed your recent stay at Morning Glory! We are also very happy that our B&B met your expectations and standards with regards to location, hospitality, service and cleanliness! You all were so much fun and we do look forward to the day when you can return to Salem and Morning Glory with your husband! Until then, our very best to you!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Bob and Marcel are warm and welcoming hosts that make you feel at home! Their B&B is extremely clean with fabulous decorating. Bob and Marcel provided delicious gormet breakfasts each of the three mornings we were there! Their B&B location was in a quiet area near the water but perfect walking distance to the hub of Salem. We had to leave early for our flight and Bob and Marcel accomidated our needs by feeding us early and giving us a ride to the ferry. Thanks so much for the great time! Nancy V

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Nancy and our thanks to you for submitting such a lovely review!!! It was our pleasure to host you, your sister and your nieces at our B&B this past October! Thank you kindly for your compliments on our "delicious gourmet breakfasts"!!! We do love to pamper our guests in every way possible and are delighted that your felt just that! Morning Glory is situated on a very quiet dead end street by the ocean so the nights here are extremely peaceful. We were more than happy to accommodate you all with breakfast with your early rise upon departure as well as transporting you all to the ferry. Our very best to you all and we hope to have you come and stay with us again!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flushing, ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Salem, MA. and i have to say that from here on out, my first choice for a B&B in Salem is the Morning Glory for sure.

Bob & Marcel are the absolute best hosts hands down! They are welcoming and easy going, traffic turned our 4 hour drive into a 9 hour drive, i was worried about checking in so late, but they were so accomodating. They left our key with instructions in an envelope for us when we finally arrived around 730pm.

Marcel came up to our room shortly after we arrived and that made us feel very welcome. On our second evening there, Marcel lit the fireplace in our room for us and that was a wonderful treat.

The B&B all by itself is amazing, cozy and refreshing, with great decor and a few spooky paintings & dolls, but hey, it's SALEM. i loved the Kureig coffee available to us and bottled water in the fridge is a great touch!

I visited at the end of september and the weather was pretty chilly, i'm looking forward to visiting again next summer so i can enjoy the rooftop deck and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilphaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your splendid review!! As you are a frequent visitor to Salem, we are thrilled to read that Morning Glory will be your first choice in accommodations from here on out! We are flattered by your wonderful compliments! Please do come and visit with us again in warmer weather so that you can take full advantage of the roof deck and ocean views! Until that time, we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed in many b&b's in the US and in Europe and this was one of the best. This is the ultimate in a cute, New England b&b. We had the Sarah Good Suite on the top floor for two nights in early October, 2012. The whole house is immaculate. Everything you could need in your room, gorgeous decorating, comfortable bed, very relaxing suite to watch tv in the evening. Marcel and Bob are the most welcoming hosts and do make you feel like family. Yes the cheese bread is fantastic and it's great that Marcel, Bob, and Bob's mom are all involved in making the food. Bob and Marcel helped us plan out our visit and the dinner recommendation for Finz was perfect our first night. If we are ever in the neighborhood, we wouldn't miss the chance to stay with them again.

Room Tip: Top suite was roomy and quiet. I might try the room with the fireplace next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Donna and we thank you for sharing your positive experience at Morning Glory with other TripAdvisor users. It is true that each guest room has its own unique charm. The Sarah Good Suite is very spacious as it encompasses the entire third floor with its own private sitting room equipped with flat screen TV, Cuisinart coffee maker and refrigerator. The Rebecca Nurse room is especially charming with its wood burning fireplace, ideal for the cold and chilly months! We are flattered that you rank Morning Glory among the top B&B's your have experienced in both the United States and Europe! Please do come and visit with us again and until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my first time going to Salem, Massachusetts and I went on trip advisor to see what hotels or inns were the most recommended and when I saw The Morning Glory, it was the first time I've ever seen an establishment rated perfectly! So I just had to experience it for myself. Bob and Marcel are extremely nice and attentive. The Bed and Breakfast is so cute, very nice and clean. And above all, the breakfasts that Marcel makes himself for all the house guests are simply to die for. The location is really great, within walking distance of many attractions and it has great views from the second and third floors. Great hospitality, great hosts, it made my stay in Salem so much more than I imagined! If I do end up visiting Salem again I'm definitely going to stay at Morning Glory ;)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello Tatiana and many thanks for taking time to submit such a terrific review!! We truly enjoyed having you and your Mom stay with us for your recent visit to the Witch City! Thanks Tatiana for your wonderful compliments on our homemade breakfasts - baked french toast with walnuts and blackberries, pancakes with fresh strawberries, blueberries, bananas and a butter maple syrup with walnuts, baked apple crisp with cranberries, oatmeal and coconut, and homemade baked bean with bacon, just to name a few. Please do come back to Salem and Morning Glory and visit with us again if you get the chance! Until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Tremper
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This past September, my husband and I once again had the wonderful opportunity to spend a week at the Morning Glory B&B in Salem, Mass. Each time we stay, it's like returning home again, as owners Bob Shea and Marcel DuFour, make you feel like family, like you are always welcomed. On this trip, we brought along a friend who was making her maiden voyage to Salem, she stayed in the Bridget Bishop room. She enjoyed her stay so much she is already making her plans for next year's visit.

All rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and have everything you need for your stay. Comfortable sheets are an important part of any stay away from home, and the bedding used in the Inn is top-notch. Blow dryers are supplied in each room, along with flat screen t.v.'s and ample storage space for your belongings, The common area has a college fridge stocked with bottled water, and there is also a k-cup style coffee maker and supplies, as well as mugs, wine glasses, and bottle opener. Attention to detail is key at the Morning Glory and they miss nothing, your every need is met, no matter what it is.

Breakfast is an experience here that can't be repeated anywhere else. Chef Marcel worked his culinary magic each morning with various scrumptious concoctions like home made apple crisp, baked french toast (best that I EVER had,..EVER), pancakes with fresh fruit and syrup, and as always, of course, Marcel's famous cheese bread. I can't say enough about the cheese bread, except that I really miss it. As a matter of fact, as another couple left on the same day, the husband said he wished he had a loaf to take home (might not be a bad idea Marcel, hint hint), In addition there were always various home made baked goodies on the table, and if you're lucky, you'll also have some of Marcel's homemade baked beans.

Situated across from the House of Seven Gables, the Inn is located on a very quiet street, yet only steps away from EVERYTHING! The roof top deck and second floor porch offer a nice view of the harbor. We always choose to stay in the Elizabeth Howe room, as we like the easy access. It is within walking distance to Pickering Wharf, with it's various shops, as well as literally around the corner from award winning restaurants.

If anyone is planning a trip to Salem, whether for a weekend or an extended stay, I would say that the Morning Glory is the BEST place to stay, and Bob and Marcel are the most personable hosts that this fine city has. Nowhere else in Salem will you get professional, yet personalized service, gourmet breakfasts, comfortable rooms, and two of the best Inn-keepers you could ask for. We won't stay anywhere else now, they've spoiled us rotten!

Room Tip: We like the Elizabeth Howe room for size and ease of access to the parking lot through the private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Wow!!!!!! Thank you Buffy for posting your very detailed and glowing review of your recent stay here at Morning Glory! There simply isn't much more we can add other than our heart-felt thanks!!! We do treasure the friendship we have forged with you and Willie and feel very fortunate to be able to call you our friends! We so look forward to every September for your return visit to Salem and Morning Glory! Honestly, I don't think we stop laughing for that entire week you are with us!!! Thank you Buffy and Willie for your very kind words and for your friendship! Until next September, we send you both our very best!!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,954 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Salem
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing