We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed in many b&b's in the US and in Europe and this was one of the best. This is the ultimate in a cute, New England b&b. We had the Sarah Good Suite on the top floor for two nights in early October, 2012. The whole house is immaculate. Everything you could need in your room, gorgeous decorating, comfortable bed, very relaxing suite to watch tv in the evening. Marcel and Bob are the most welcoming hosts and do make you feel like family. Yes the cheese bread is fantastic and it's great that Marcel, Bob, and Bob's mom are all involved in making the food. Bob and Marcel helped us plan out our visit and the dinner recommendation for Finz was perfect our first night. If we are ever in the neighborhood, we wouldn't miss the chance to stay with them again.

Room Tip: Top suite was roomy and quiet. I might try the room with the fireplace next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello Donna and we thank you for sharing your positive experience at Morning Glory with other TripAdvisor users. It is true that each guest room has its own unique charm. The Sarah Good Suite is very spacious as it encompasses the entire third floor with its own private sitting room equipped with flat screen TV, Cuisinart coffee maker and refrigerator. The Rebecca Nurse room is especially charming with its wood burning fireplace, ideal for the cold and chilly months! We are flattered that you rank Morning Glory among the top B&B's your have experienced in both the United States and Europe! Please do come and visit with us again and until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    54
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
125
810
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my first time going to Salem, Massachusetts and I went on trip advisor to see what hotels or inns were the most recommended and when I saw The Morning Glory, it was the first time I've ever seen an establishment rated perfectly! So I just had to experience it for myself. Bob and Marcel are extremely nice and attentive. The Bed and Breakfast is so cute, very nice and clean. And above all, the breakfasts that Marcel makes himself for all the house guests are simply to die for. The location is really great, within walking distance of many attractions and it has great views from the second and third floors. Great hospitality, great hosts, it made my stay in Salem so much more than I imagined! If I do end up visiting Salem again I'm definitely going to stay at Morning Glory ;)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hello Tatiana and many thanks for taking time to submit such a terrific review!! We truly enjoyed having you and your Mom stay with us for your recent visit to the Witch City! Thanks Tatiana for your wonderful compliments on our homemade breakfasts - baked french toast with walnuts and blackberries, pancakes with fresh strawberries, blueberries, bananas and a butter maple syrup with walnuts, baked apple crisp with cranberries, oatmeal and coconut, and homemade baked bean with bacon, just to name a few. Please do come back to Salem and Morning Glory and visit with us again if you get the chance! Until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Tremper
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This past September, my husband and I once again had the wonderful opportunity to spend a week at the Morning Glory B&B in Salem, Mass. Each time we stay, it's like returning home again, as owners Bob Shea and Marcel DuFour, make you feel like family, like you are always welcomed. On this trip, we brought along a friend who was making her maiden voyage to Salem, she stayed in the Bridget Bishop room. She enjoyed her stay so much she is already making her plans for next year's visit.

All rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and have everything you need for your stay. Comfortable sheets are an important part of any stay away from home, and the bedding used in the Inn is top-notch. Blow dryers are supplied in each room, along with flat screen t.v.'s and ample storage space for your belongings, The common area has a college fridge stocked with bottled water, and there is also a k-cup style coffee maker and supplies, as well as mugs, wine glasses, and bottle opener. Attention to detail is key at the Morning Glory and they miss nothing, your every need is met, no matter what it is.

Breakfast is an experience here that can't be repeated anywhere else. Chef Marcel worked his culinary magic each morning with various scrumptious concoctions like home made apple crisp, baked french toast (best that I EVER had,..EVER), pancakes with fresh fruit and syrup, and as always, of course, Marcel's famous cheese bread. I can't say enough about the cheese bread, except that I really miss it. As a matter of fact, as another couple left on the same day, the husband said he wished he had a loaf to take home (might not be a bad idea Marcel, hint hint), In addition there were always various home made baked goodies on the table, and if you're lucky, you'll also have some of Marcel's homemade baked beans.

Situated across from the House of Seven Gables, the Inn is located on a very quiet street, yet only steps away from EVERYTHING! The roof top deck and second floor porch offer a nice view of the harbor. We always choose to stay in the Elizabeth Howe room, as we like the easy access. It is within walking distance to Pickering Wharf, with it's various shops, as well as literally around the corner from award winning restaurants.

If anyone is planning a trip to Salem, whether for a weekend or an extended stay, I would say that the Morning Glory is the BEST place to stay, and Bob and Marcel are the most personable hosts that this fine city has. Nowhere else in Salem will you get professional, yet personalized service, gourmet breakfasts, comfortable rooms, and two of the best Inn-keepers you could ask for. We won't stay anywhere else now, they've spoiled us rotten!

Room Tip: We like the Elizabeth Howe room for size and ease of access to the parking lot through the private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Wow!!!!!! Thank you Buffy for posting your very detailed and glowing review of your recent stay here at Morning Glory! There simply isn't much more we can add other than our heart-felt thanks!!! We do treasure the friendship we have forged with you and Willie and feel very fortunate to be able to call you our friends! We so look forward to every September for your return visit to Salem and Morning Glory! Honestly, I don't think we stop laughing for that entire week you are with us!!! Thank you Buffy and Willie for your very kind words and for your friendship! Until next September, we send you both our very best!!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hospitality, great food, and great hosts! Bob and Marcel make you feel like part of the family. Traditional cape cod home with beautiful views from second and third floor decks located right next door to one of the most popular sites, House of the Seven Gables as well as across the street from the Ye Olde Candy Shop.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A132935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you folks for submitting such a lovely review! So happy you felt right at home here at Morning Glory, as this is one of the many things we hope our guests experience at our B&B. The location of Morning Glory is ideal as you mentioned; sandwiched between the Historic House of the Seven Gables - a National Historic Landmark, and the Ye Olde Pepper Candy Companie - the oldest candy company in all of America!!! We hope you can come and visit with us again and until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We absolutely loved staying at the Morning Glory during our stay in Salem. The entire inn was immaculate, the decorations were exquisite and our hosts were amazing! We were within walking distance of everything in town, yet we were not in the middle of all the October crowds.
Breakfast was a treat every morning.
We cannot say enough great things about Marcel and Bob.
Next time we visit Salem, we will surely stay at the Morning Glory.

Thank you for everything.

- Chris & Mary

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello Chris and Mary and many thanks for your terrific review of your recent stay this past weekend at Morning Glory! The hustle and bustle of the October crowds are indeed out in full force but we are happy to read that you found a very quiet respite here at Morning Glory at the end of your busy day! Being situated on a very quiet dead end street by the harbor, Morning Glory is sure to provide a very quiet night's sleep for her guests and yet, as you point out, is within easy walking distance to all of the sights. As much as you both "absolutely loved" staying here, we absolutely loved having you! Until the next time, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Two days of RAIN! Two nights of RAIN! Two days and nights in the witch city, full of rain. Yet, this little bed and breakfast with the most delicious of homemade breakfasts, the most beautiful front room facing the street below,(Rebecca Nurse room), the beautifully adorned October charm everywhere, somehow made the two days spent there worth while. It's no wonder that October reservations always fill so quickly. There is however, a serious problem with this splendid inn, that if I did not mention here in this review, I would be misguiding all who read these reviews, in hopes of finding that ( SPECIAL SPOT ). If any who read of this review believe that after your stay at this bed and breakfast, you can just check out and be on your way, this is where the problem lies. For as if a bewitching spell has been cast upon yourself, from within the walls of the inn, You want to turn right around, and never leave. See the problem?

Room Tip: Rebecca Nurse Room !!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello Steve and many thanks for posting your glowing review! As hard as we work to make each and every guest's stay a memorable one, the one variable we have no control over is the weather. The rain may have slowed you down just a bit but it certainly didn't stop you from taking in all the wonders this beautiful and historic city of Salem has to offer! We guess the spell cast on you will bring you back to Salem and Morning Glory again!!! Until then, we send you both our very best!!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Paid a short visit to Salem, MA at the end of the summer. Stayed at the Morning Glory B and B for 2 nights! What a wonderful and welcoming B and B! Clean, quiet and SO many comforts. Wonderful third floor outdoor deck overlooking the bay. We stayed in the 3rd floor suite which was spacious and very comfortable. The owners are so gracious and welcoming! The Breakfast daily was delicious and served at a beautifully laid table. The couples staying there (some were different each day) were friendly and so comfortable we ended up chatting as if we were friends! The Inn is close to restaurants, the water and the little downtown area. A must stay if you are looking for a serene and quiet getaway. Worth every penny!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CritterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hello CritterK and thank you for sharing your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you found Morning Glory clean, comfortable and ideally situated. We have to agree with you that meeting other guests from around the country and world at breakfast each morning is one of the highlights when staying at a B&B. The conversation is so comfortable that you do feel as if you are among friends rather than strangers. We look forward to having you stay with us again and we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.3 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,940 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.6 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast
Morning Glory Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing