We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby!”
Review of Winter Island Park

Winter Island Park
Ranked #26 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chester County, PA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not too shabby!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We brought our 5th wheel to Winter Island RV park and stayed in Site No. 55. The surrounding grounds are beautiful. Short walk to Waikiki Beach, beautiful harbor view, bathrooms are clean. Site 55 is in the field kind of off by itself. The other RVers were all in a big huddled group and I really enjoyed our 'private' spot. No sewer hookup but the dump station is on the property next door and very easy in/easy out.

Two complaints: the young girl working in the office was absolutely miserable and it reflected in her attitude towards any questions we had for the facility. Second complaint is the amount of broken glass and fishing hooks, debris, etc that is hiding in the grass almost everywhere we walked. We probably wouldn't have noticed it except we have two 4-month-old puppies who put everything in their mouths and they kept picking up all the 'shiny' things (glass, metal, bottle caps). If you use the park as your home base for Salem activities and the beach, etc, I would recommend this place. If you're looking to camp in a luxury state park, pass on this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LSte606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Trip here was ruined by teenaged runners.”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a very pretty spot but when I went during the week in October, some high school running club was having a race throughout the ENTIRE park. There was nowhere I could go where I was not in danger of being trampled by the teens, or yelled out to get out of the way by their cheering crew. After about 20 minutes of wandering around looking for a place to sit and enjoy the view, I got back in my car and drove out of the park. Luckily, after explaining what had happened, I was able to get my entry fee back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 13ellezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“House Tour”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We did the Christmas in Salem house toour of the WILLOWS are...so nice & worth the $30.00. Stunning historical homes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Upstatekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice memorys”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great location for a picnic or overnight camping.
Former Coast Guard Station that I remember watching the seaplanes take off from many years ago. Buildings fell into disrepair but I understand that the City Of Salem is planning to renovate some of them for recreational use.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gitter assoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste time”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Do not camp here. Only few sites and others were on a parking lot. There are plenty of other beaches to visit a lot prettier.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winter Island Park also viewed

 

Been to Winter Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing