We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A&J King Artisan Bakers

A&J King Artisan Bakers
Ranked #1 of 18 Bakeries in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The best! Croissants, apricot & ginger scones, pain au chocolate, blueberry muffins, baguettes, cinnamon swirl bread! This is the place to go for pastries and coffee in Salem. Get there before 10am for the best selection of breads/pastries. It usually has a line too so it may take 10 minutes or so to get to the counter.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank malmal113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    20
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
698 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 913 helpful votes
“Fresh and Organic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Cinnamon rolls.....fresh breads....great coffee!
They use local dairy ( hormone free) for all milk products and source local. Can be a line-up. Worth the wait!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEST croissants around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Doesn't get any better - except maybe if you are in Paris. Love this place. The baked goods are divine and I ALWAYS walk out with more than I planned on getting. Their breads are at Whole Foods as well - but nothing compares to walking out with a warm loaf right out of the oven.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“European bread in Salem?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Until now I've never found bread in America that matched that in Europe. Then I found AJ King. They have a wonderful assortment of standard breads and pastries, plus daily features. If you want to sit in, they have some tables. No table service, you pick up at the counter and take it to a table. Most get their goodies to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank idlewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best bakery in the north shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Every time we have company in Salem, I make a point to bring them to A&Js. (I only do it with company because otherwise I would be as big as a house!) We go specifically for the delicious breads and pastries. (I don't usually get sandwiches there, and my personal opinion is that Front St. coffee is better in the hot beverage department). But for classically executed breads and pastries, I haven't had better in this country. Their Thursday weekday special bread, English Muffin bread, is excellent for homemade bacon, egg, and cheese sandwiches. Other items we consistently order and with which we are never disappointed: ciabatta, baguette, epi loaf, fougasse (tho it goes stale very quickly, so plan to eat it that day), the sticky buns, and all flavors of croissant (especially in love with the ham and cheese - it's peppery and savory and scrumptious). The breads freeze and refresh very well, too, in case, like me, you order more than you can consume in one sitting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmers U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A&J King Artisan Bakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing