We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dine outside if you can” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grapevine Restaurant - CLOSED

Grapevine Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Derby Street
Transit: Bus #450, 451, 455, 456, 459, 465 are all with in walking distance as well as the commuter rail on the Newburyport/ Rockport Line
Description: The Grapevine would like to invite you to a genuinely unique experience. A newly opened Mediterranean kitchen & wine bar, the Grapevine brings together old world values and a new world vision. Chef Frederick Feliz has been with The Grapevine for three years and passionately creates exceptional Mediterranean fare with an emphasis on local ingredients and slow food.
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dine outside if you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went to this restaurant with two friends. We were given the choice of eating on the patio and it was lovely. We ordered the scallops, the salmon and the ravioli and all were very good.

The patio faces the South River with a fence to shut off most of the road. It was not "scenic",as the view across the water was of buildings, but one of us remarked that the presence of water always raises the experience.

The waitresses were nice, knowledgeable and seemed to know when to appear with water or ask if we needed more of anything. We stayed talking quite a while after the dishes were cleared without feeling any pressure to leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SalSal_Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of the more perfect meals I've had in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really enjoyed my dinner at Grapevine. The food was bold and inventive, prepared perfectly, and was complemented by a friendly and very well-trained staff. The ambience was lovely, but not too romantic for a diner alone (I'm not going to let my husband's business travel keep me from enjoying a nice dinner out!). I loved loved loved everything about this place and would recommend it without reservation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IzziGirlAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Check this place out! (new owners)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have thought about trying this place for awhile and finally did last week. I'm so glad that we did and will definitely be back. Our waiter (Shane B.) was knowledgeable and very genuine. He did not rush us at all, timed the meal perfectly and even gave us a tour of the back patio before we left. (We will definitely be back to eat outside some evening.) The food was impeccably presented and absolutely delicious. We also has a couple lovely cocktails and glasses of wine. All of this at a totally reasonable price. The owner (Harry) also came over and talked with us for awhile, which was great. Check this place out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
942 reviews
579 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, Nice Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Grapevine is under new ownership, and we were curious to see whether there had been many changes. The short answer is that the menu has been overhauled, but the food remains excellent, and reasonably priced. We ate outside and in good weather I recommend that. We will certainly be back.

One further note: Parking in Salem can sometimes be tricky, but Grapevine has its own lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

you do not get quantity here, but you do get quality. It has a nice ambiance as well. Food is superb!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pikasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing