We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but.......”
Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
Ranked #30 of 235 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: New restaurant.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
230 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good, but.......”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were amazed here last summer so being in Salem we tried again.
This place is quite a concept, local products, interesting menu, wide selection of craft brews (ahh the prices???). They even have a sense of humor, the Elvis sandwich (my wife said "NO!!").
My wife had the fish sandwich, I tried the beef. The fish sandwich, more like two tacos, was good, a tad soupy but good. My brisket was tasty but tough, reminded me of the chuck wagon in "Wagon Train", the mustard tasty but overpowering, the bread quite good if the mustard were not dominating it.
House lemonade quite tasty and refreshing.
Our server was kind, a little harried but kind.
So chef, watch those condiments please and brisket is not supposed to be a test of meat versus knife. You have a great idea here, keep your sense of humor.
We'll try again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keydet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    86
    36
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food, but service is okay”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

So the food speaks for itself here.....amazing!!! We were visiting the in the area and actually went back the next day to have lunch there again. The service could step it up a notch, we waited for a bit to even have out drink order taken, but the food made up for it. We also like the electronic ordering system and card service right at the table.

Helpful?
Thank Shauna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went here on the recommendation of a local. The food was mediocre and the service was awful. We kept cycling between two waitresses who were not attentive at all and did not communicate with each other--this left us waiting on things constantly! Ended up waiting something like 45 minutes for a piece of fish because the waitress gave our order to the wrong table. Portions were small and not super impressive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jammanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bacon Popcorn”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

It's an addiction. The bacon powder dusted popcorn is so good. They make everything from scratch! It's so delicious

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good to experience while in town, but pricey.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Was recommended to eat lunch here by the bed and breakfast we were staying at, and we were not disappointed. Place was very busy with seating inside and out, we had to wait awhile for a table but the food was very good, all home made with ingredients from local farms and businesses. Was a little pricey though, $35 for lunch for two of us for 2 sandwiches, an order of french fries, 1 beer, and 1 lemonade. The wait staff was obviously very busy, but polite and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mila918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing