We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a tasty lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scratch Kitchen

Scratch Kitchen
Ranked #33 of 231 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant.
Detroit
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for a tasty lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stumbled up this gem and had no problem getting a seat. Food is so tasty - everything is made from scratch. Lots of great beers on tap. Gotta love the fries and home made ketchup - YUMMY. Our service was decent and portions were nice. Great way to start our day in Salem

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muirwoodsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    86
    36
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
193 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Try the bacon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews and were prepared for a wait and possibly bad service. That being said, we were pleasantly surprised to receive neither. We waited about ten minutes for our food (the bacon Mac and cheese and fish tacos). The food was a good sized portion and very tasty. The service was decent as well with our waitress checking to see how everything was and if we needed anything etc. would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalN320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
226 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“You have to try the pickles!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is the best hamburger I have had in Massachusetts. It was cooked to perfection served on wholesome bread and the homemade ketchup will give Garrison Keillor a new standard for his Catsup Advisory Board.
My wife's vegetable sandwich was superb on great bread (I see a trend here), we were both pleased.
Service cordial and timely.
It looks simple from Derby street but what they serve is not simple.
The ketchup, pickles, and bread, a hearty YES.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keydet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best onion rings I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a fabulous place. The food is fresh and locally sourced, and prepared with imagination and care. It's reasonably priced, and has a huge wine and beer list. Perfect for any type of gathering. DO NOT MISS THE ONION RINGS.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice folks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Homemade-style food in a casual restaurant with staff who were super nice to our messy two year old. No air conditioning but the beer recommendations were on spot, and the gazpacho with croutons was cooling. Homemade potato chips gratis to start. The two year old loved the non Oscar Meyer hot dog and hand cut fries. We got the berry crisp to go, well worth it. Nice folks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scratch Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing