We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Brodies Seaport

Brodies Seaport
Ranked #39 of 236 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went here for dinner..I didn't really like any of the choices on the menu but my partner said she read really good reviews..I tried the chicken chowder which was not good at all..the dark pinkish meat was the highlight..my partner liked the chowder..we sat looking at the menu for over 10 mins and decided to try the cape cod..its a wrap, turkey, lettuce, tomatoes, cranberries, relish and mayo..I didn't want relish and my partner did..well when we got the wraps they only had turkey lettuce and tomato..I was so hungry we tried eating it..gross and dry..I would not recommend this place at all..the waitress was really sweet..that's the only good thing I can say

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank papsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    18
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Casual inviting friendly restaurant.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A casual inviting friendly restaurant. For appetizer, we tried the fried clams (ok- a little under seasoned) and a good clam chowder. Also had a great lobster roll and the special-of-the-day shrimp which were good. They have a young and eager wait staff- ours was very friendly, helpful, answered all our questions, and described and recommended drinks we've never had before. The prices are reasonable also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food is satisfactory but I would not call it great. While the fish in the fish and chips is fresh, other appetizers appear frozen, fast cooked.

The service unfortunately all four times I have been there has been very slow. From ordering drinks to food, outside patio, inside bar or inside dining, the service is painfully slow. The last time we went (that will be our last time), we ended up leaving after a drink because it took 20 minutes to get our drinks (and we actually ended up picking them up ourselves at the bat).

I also observed seating blocking a fire door....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another lucky find!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Decided to stop by here while walking thru Salem and it turned out to be a great choice. Had the Scallop and Bacon pizza with alfredo sauce and it was excellent. Always like it when the owner comes up to ask how the food is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mnaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly service”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I had a late lunch at the Seaport Cafe on a Tuesday afternoon. Our server Todd was very friendly and helpful with the menu. I wanted to try the lobster mac and cheese but was worried about the portion size since it was late in the afternoon and we had dinner plans. He checked with the chef and they were able to make a smaller portion for a lower price - very accommodating. We also tried the black & tan onion rings which were DELICIOUS. The Guinness sauce they serve with the rings was out of this world. My husband had the lobster roll which he really enjoyed. We spoiled our appetites for our dinner, but it was worth it! The food was all really yummy.
Todd asked what our plans were while we were in town and he offered us some tips and suggestions, which we really appreciated. I'm glad we popped into this little spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brodies Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing