We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun for Everyone”
Review of Witch City Segway

Witch City Segway
Ranked #14 of 31 Tours in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Salem Heritage Trail in the heart of historic downtown, Witch City Segway is Salem's original Segway tour company. Providing guided tours of our quaint New England town, WCS truly is a new way to see an old city. Guests are provided with free parking at our shop, where you'll receive a helmet and a Segway before being trained by our guides inside our 2000sq ft facility. We then Segway about our charming streets learning about our maritime history, Nathanial Hawthorne, and of course, the (in)famous Witch Trials of 1692! Friendly, personal, interactive tours are our specialty, and a great bonding experience for teens and parents! Witch City Segway: A Wicca'd Fun™ time!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Lockport, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Fun for Everyone”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had our tour on the weekend before Halloween and Salem was swarming with people, ghosts, ghouls and of course, witches. After visiting the typical witch-themed attractions, we opted for something a bit different, and Segways was just what we had to do!
Our 2 hour tour started with a brief safety/introductory video. We then got our helmets and an operating lesson. Then we were off on the streets of Salem. Our 2 guides, Tim and Andrew, kept the group safe as we made our way out of the busiest parts of Salem to less visited, yet very beautiful areas.
As well as learning more of the history of the area, we had great fun riding the Segways. We were offered ample "free time" to ride and explore.
The reason we only rated this attraction a 4, not a 5, was that the tour was advertised as historic. Though the guides were humorous, entertaining, and did share interesting facts as we made our way about, the history portion was weak. BUT, the overall fantastic time we had "Segway-ing" made it a tour well worth taking!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    15
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
“Worth the $$$”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I just happened to come across this randomly looking for something to do in Salem around Halloween and SO glad that I did. The tour guides made this a fun trip buy showing us around Salem and even working in some free time to test out our newly learned Segway skills. From the very beginning we were psyched to learn that in an area so congested at that time of year and where parking can cost around $20 (if you can find an open lot), we were offered free parking right in the middle of the downtown area. Another pleasant surprise was that they don't make you pay a crazy additional price at the end of the tour for the photos that the guides take throughout the tour; pleasantly surprised to learn that these photos are already included in the price. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went with my brother, it was so cool the segways are really fun and the tour guide is awesome, free photos at the end!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Based on a tripadvisor recommendation, I did the two Witch City Segway tour of Salem on 18 Oct. Overall, the experience was great fun...the weather mid60's, the Fall colors amazing and the Segways themselves a blast to scoot around on. The Witch City Management team does a great job getting you familiar with the scooters before you hit the road, and they're very intuitive and safe to ride anyway. This is not an in-depth history tour, but a light, fun and invigorating way to see all Salem that most tourists do not see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Great Tour, but Photos....”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our fun and informative time with Dan. The Segways were more fun and easier to learn than we had ever anticipated. However, this was an important family time together for the three of us and having been so excited that he also took so many photos and gave us a USB stick with them, we were tremendously disappointed to discover that most of them were totally out of focus! Now, we head back to CO with only a couple that are good...what a shame. We would recommend that if you go, you ask the guide to check his camera settings and make sure he/she knows how the camera focuses. I would have given them 5 stars if we had photos to enjoy from our trip...after spending over $200 we spent for the 2 hours. I think we gave him a generous tip and he did not even mention that the photos were blurry after having reviewed them. Otherwise, very fun experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witch City Segway also viewed

 

Been to Witch City Segway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing