We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very informative

We did this tour a couple of weeks before Halloween so it did get busy later in the day so I... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kevinlY1011GT
,
Tiny, Canada
via mobile
Happy&relax around the town.

I spent as an hour on the trolley around Salem,the service is very good,the guide is more funny... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Phanwit W
Read all 803 reviews
  
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
435
215
78
31
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
215
78
31
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop on hop tour guide lay of the land great overview your bearings hour tour points of interest entire tour rainy day great tour visitor center witch trials ride stops tickets loop sights
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did this tour a couple of weeks before Halloween so it did get busy later in the day so I recommend taking the first tour of the day. Our tour guide was a retired local and knew the tow very well. The av equipment did fail often making it hard to hear. Lots of historical information shared and you get a good tour of the historic areas and the shoreline. Seats aren’t the most comfortable.

Thank kevinlY1011GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent as an hour on the trolley around Salem,the service is very good,the guide is more funny guy,he introduced places on the way along the trip.

Thank Phanwit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a blast in Salem and would highly recommend this trolley ride. Mark and Mike were excellent guides providing much knowledge about Salem’s history, landmarks and a lot of laughs along the way. They were very accommodating to passengers getting on and off at certain places and recommending other fun things to do in Salem. If you go on the trolley ride (which is a much do) try to get them as your guides!!

Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After spending our first day driving inSalem trying to find a parking place, we took an Uber to the trolley on the second day. Although I wish they made more stops to sightseers, we found it the only way to get around in October!

Thank Nanci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Salem Trolley was challenging to find the actual starting stop. Although listed as a gift shop, it was actually about two blocks away. It is described as a hop on hop off, but we were told if we disembarked at any stops, it may be hours long waits to get back on. It also was unclear that you had to ride two different loops in order to experience the whole tour.
The guides' scripts were interesting enough but could be more detailed. They seemed canned but with minimal information.
It was a good way for us to tour Salem beyond the "Witches street", especially as we took the commuter train down from Boston for the afternoon.

Thank MaryandHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The guide was great and the history very informative. We actually took the trolley instead of one of the walking tours because it was raining. The “windows” were plastic so were completely fogged and we couldn’t see out. I’m sure in the spring it would have been great.

Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our driver, and the tour guide were wonderful for a few reasons. The Trolley driver and our tour guide were both entertaining, and informative. Clearly explained the history of Salem- who the inhabitants were, and where they lived. The tour was also appreciated because we were in Salem the weekend before Halloween while the East Coast experienced a Nor’Easter. Everyone was drenched, and appreciated a dry tour of the area.

Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Personally, I love taking trolley tours. It allows you to get an inside look to the best attractions of a town while listening to the history. Our guide as amazing, knowledgeable and funny. He did a ton of impressions of actors and was spot on. Told us he got married at the Salem Waterfront Hotel and Suites. We found him to be very entertaining, in fact we stayed on the trolley longer to hear his stories. I would definitely recommend this tour. And Betty is a fantastic driver.

Thank Nichole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the evening Tales and Tombstone tour. You di not get off the trolly until the end. They do pause by certain areas, however it was very difficult to see through plastic windows this time or year and to understand exactly where we were to look. The tales and facts that were told by guide were interesting though. We drove the route ourself then and took pictures. The trolly is well heated if visiting during colder times.

Thank lather66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Trolley is a nice way to find all the main attractions of Salem. You are allowed to get on and off the Trolley but I would advise against it during the busy times of October, you may get off but could be hard pressed to find a seat when you get back on. The guide on our trolley was a hoot and provided very good commentary. We enjoyed the experience

Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews