We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour”
Review of Salem Trolley

Salem Trolley
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1982, Salem Trolley has offered sightseeing tours and exceptional transportation North of Boston. Once on board, visitors discover the Witch City's unique, colorful past. Our hop-on, hop-off service includes a one-hour narrated tour and all-day shuttle service through beautiful and historic Salem from the witchcraft trials of 1692, to literary and maritime history. Our eight-mile ride around the city takes you past the Charter Street Burial Ground, The House of the Seven Gables, Witch Dungeon Museum, Witch History Museum, New England Pirate Museum, Salem Witch Museum, along the historic waterfront and along historic streets such as Chestnut Street. Your professional driver and talented local tour guide will entertain you with factual history and interesting tidbits about the city. Feel free to get off and on at any of our 14 stops throughout the day and view Salem at your leisure, using our trolley as a convenient shuttle service. Private charters are available year round.
Marysville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Trolley tour was great~our guide was wonderful, he had a sense of humor and really gave us lots of info on the history of Salem. The cost of the tour was very reasonable, and you can get off and on at all of the stops. There was so much to see and do, I wish that we had started earlier in the day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    171
    64
    23
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best way to see Salem by automobile”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I highly recommend this tour. You get a great overview of Salem and the behind the scenes information. You are also able to get off and on at any of the stops. However, I recommend starting as early as you can. We lost track of time and could not use the trolly to make it back from The House of the Seven Gables:).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 953 helpful votes
“The Trolley Tour was GREAT!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would highly recommend this tour. We had a great guide, who l believe was a retired teacher. Very knowledgeable. This tour will provide and executive summary about Salem. Tour allows you to get on and off at attractions for one fee. Takes one hour to complete entire tour start to finish.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bestfamilyadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do this first, well worth the cost”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We did this when they opened for the morning our first day. The trolley takes two loops and you get tons of history and fun facts on the trolley. Most of all it gives you the lay out of the town and the distance between the different sites, so you know how far apart things are, if they are walkable. Then you can hop on and off later to go to some of the places that are further away. Saves a lot of time so you can see more. Most places attractions are only open from 10 am to 5 pm, so keep an eye on the last trolley pick up at the stop so you can get back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“October fun”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did the Tombstone & Trolly tour at night, it was so fun. The tour guide was wonderful she dressed in character and did a great job. The driver was great too, Highly reccommend this tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MHSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salem Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing