We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Salem
Haunted Footsteps & Salem Historical Tours
Open today: 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Haunted Footsteps & Salem Historical Tours
from $15.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
from $34.00
More Info
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
182
38
33
18
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
182
38
33
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost tour great tour recommend this tour company boston trip combo tour witch trials wear comfortable shoes walking tour night tour wealth of knowledge story telling hocus pocus bob stories guide information cemetery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 288 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2014

The event didn't start out so well with us waiting a half an hour to get going. The organization asks that people assemble outside their office 15 minutes prior to the scheduled tour time of 8:00 pm. The tour didn't start until 15 minutes after 8:00 which was slightly irritating. I think they were waiting for some customers to show up. Our tour guide Bob was a hoot! He was dressed as a skeleton in a top hat and was very friendly and knowledgeable, even threw in a few good one-liners to lighten the mood. The only part which I didn't particularly enjoy was the gaggle of drunk middle-aged women discretely sipping vodka out of their travel mugs, constantly interrupting Bob as he was telling ghost stories. Luckily Bob told "mommy's night out" to pipe down or take a hike. At the end of the tour we stopped at the Old Burying Point cemetery. I was able to capture a really strange green orb chillin at a gravestone in several pictures. I highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2014

The ghost tour lasted about two hours and the guide provided great information at each stop. The guide was entertaining and he knew quite a bit about Salem and its history. He was able to answer any questions the group asked. Bring a camera because past participants have caught some interesting things. When you go into the office, take a look at the photographs taken on previous tours. If you don't believe in ghosts, you just might after taking the tour!

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Starting 15 minutes late and after dividing the group in two, we enjoyed a lovely walk around Salem learning some of the history. Our guide was not that entertaining; and I wondered if we would has enjoyed it better if we had gone with the other tour guide who seemed more "into it" and animated. There is so much that could have been embellished on this tour, but wasn't - leaving us to think about this as just an average experience.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank 867ChristineM867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2014

We did the afternoon Witch Walk. The tour started 10 minutes late and finished 56 minutes later. This was short compared to other walking tours we've taken. It was rushed and the person doing the tour even told some of the stories while walking backwards.

The gentleman doing the tour was nice, but not the best story teller. The tales seemed very disjointed and incomplete. It was a lot of random facts (some not historically accurate) about Salem combined with a lot of information having nothing to do with the Witch Trials.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalemHistoricalTours, Owner at Haunted Footsteps & Salem Historical Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Our Witchcraft facts come from Jim McAllister - a well-known and respected historian in the city - and Richard Trask - the curator of the Danvers Archives and one of the foremost authorities on the 1692 Witch Trials. Our information is accurate and impeccable as are our credentials. As for walking backwards, every tour guide walks backwards at some point. We generally wait for folks to join us at the location, but sometimes we add info between locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wow, talk about two extremes. My family and I took this tour back in 2008 and were very happy with it. So of course when we went back last month (06/2014) we bought tickets. What a change a few years makes. We were very close to simply walking away mid way through it because we were so bored. Our guide was just sort of discussing what "a friend of a friend saw once a few years ago" there was more information in the free "visit Salem" guidebook that there was on this tour. I don't know if the problem was our guide or if the ownership/management has changed but based on our most recent tour we will never take this tour again.

Date of experience: June 2014
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalemHistoricalTours, Owner at Haunted Footsteps & Salem Historical Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

So sorry you had a bad experience. We have been training some new guides and perhaps someone had an off night. If anything, we have been accused of providing too much information instead of too little because we all get into the stories. So don't go throwing out the baby with the bath water. We strive to be the best in the city and have been the model for all the other tour companies since 1997 as we are the Witch City's oldest established professional walking tour company. Since you have been coming to Salem for the last decade, we would like to offer you a free tour of your choice when you make the trek East again. Feel free to email us at info@salemhistoricaltours.com to make arrangements and to open up a dialogue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews