We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and food, highly recommended”
Review of Capt's Waterfront Grill - CLOSED

Capt's Waterfront Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: One can take the commuter train to and from Boston, The "T", about a 25 minute ride. The station is a 10 to 15 minute walk from Capt's. Taxi service is available by phone. There is ferry service available from Boston - near the New England Aquarium to Blaney St. in Salem - a 10 minute walk. There is a sight-seeing trolley service that stops here.
Description: Waterfront dining at its best! Capt’s Waterfront brings the biggest and best charcoal grilled steaks to diners on the North Shore - GUARANTEED - and an incredible selection of market fresh seafood. Capt’s hand selects only the best and highest quality cuts of locally sourced steak and seafood. With its combination of exceptional charcoal grilled dishes, contemporary New England cuisine and an unparalleled location, Capt’s Waterfront is the premier location to dine on Pickering Wharf in Salem, Massachusetts. Downstairs, find a refined bar section; upstairs, the Topsides Dining Room & Deck provide a more intimate setting. Regardless of your seating arrangement, immaculate views and incredible cuisine provide for a memorable meal in one of the state’s most historic locations.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We ate here on a quiet, overcast Thursday afternoon. Not a very busy place when we went and we were given prime seats overlooking the water on the second floor. Our waiter was very attentive and helped out when we were accidentally given sour milk to my pregnant wife. Really nice guy and came to check on us at the right times. The highlight of the visit for me was the Buffalo Chicken salad/ wrap thing, which was a very creative take on the Buffalo sauce, mixed with some sort of tortilla cracker and salad leaves. Loved it and would recommend the place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkIsbrandtsen, Heather, Manager at Capt's Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Clyde, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor, as well as your recommendation! I'm happy to hear you're a fan of our waterfront seating, as well as our food and service. It sounds like your waiter really saved the day—I'd love to know his name so I could thank him for acting fast to remedy a bad situation. I hope you and your wife—and your new family addition!—will stop in the next time you're back in Salem. We'd love to see you all.

Take care and congratulations,
Heather, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

The food was great. I had a clam chowder and the grilled BLT sandwich. The staff was friendly. I had Pattie, the bartender waiting on me. She was helpful with the menu and provided timely service. I will come again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suljo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkIsbrandtsen, Heather, Manager at Capt's Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Delicious food, friendly staff, quick service — that's what we're going for, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! Pattie is a very hard worker, so I know she will be very excited by you compliments. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback and I hope you stop in again soon!

Till then,
Heather, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Salem we had dinner at Capt's Waterfront Grill. The view was beautiful, but the deck needs updated. We ordered 2 lobsta pizza's for an appetizer which was disappointing. It was very small and really not edible. The lobster roll on the other hand was good along with our waiter, Ryan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mblb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkIsbrandtsen, Heather, Manager at Capt's Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

mblb2, thanks for sharing! Glad to hear Ryan took good care of you and that you liked the lobster roll. Hope we'll get another chance to impress you with the rest of our menu in the future! Best, Heather, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great seafood, view and service. The fireplace is cozy and the drinks are very good. Love the selection and variety of the menu. Great place to sit and enjoy dinner.

Thank Bammie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkIsbrandtsen, Heather, Manager at Capt's Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Bammie6, thanks for the compliments! It's great to hear that you had a good time and loved the food. Hope to see you again soon! Best, Heather, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went for dinner. Sat outside on the deck. Beautiful view of the water. Extremely friendly server, gave good recommendations for food and sightseeing. The food was excellent (seafood, of course, and an excellent dessert).

Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirkIsbrandtsen, Heather, Manager at Capt's Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Bonnie, thank you for the compliments! We appreciate the excellent review and hope to see you again for dinner. Best, Heather, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing