We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Salem
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Sunset Cruise

Super sail. Crew was very attentive. Second sail with the When & If and will do it again next... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
884don
,
Salem, Massachusetts
Best way to spend an Indian Summer afternoon.

I love being on the water, most especially sailing. The When and If gives you a smooth relaxing... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
TravelingMerilyn
Read all 96 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salem
from $35.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
The Salem Night Tour
1,342 Reviews
from $16.00
More Info
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
96
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
96
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain eric beautiful boat general patton great company private charter wonderful adventure son and his girlfriend terrific crew highly recommend this excursion couple friends boston's north shore surrounding islands from afar day trip interesting history new england schooner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my fiancé booked this and was welcomed by a friendly, professional crew. We had a drink in our hand within 5 minutes, health and safety covered and off we went. We sailed around Salem and the local area. We were given the chance to help raise the sails, something I joined in with and was difficult but fantastic to try. The journey was amazing; weather perfect, we were provided some local history, saw other boats, we're provided blankets for those of who came a little unprepared Snacks were given free and drinks provided at very good prices. The crew, including a very cute and helpful pup, made us feel so safe and welcome and I won't forget this trip in a long time. Please, if you're in the area, make sure you take this trip, you will not regret it. Thanks again to all involved.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank gavnmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Totally worth the ticket price. Apart from the historical (and stunning) boat, the crew really makes the experience. Incredible warmth and hospitality. 10 for 10. I’d strongly recommend it.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank ioreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

We went sailing with our daughter and her teenage daughters. The Freedom Sloop is a smooth sailing boat, catching the wind and taking us around the harbor islands. We went on a 4 hour picnic sail and enjoyed the time on the water, following the wind. Captain Eric and Captain Amelia were flexible to our sailing families needs to be on the water again after recently losing our boat to costly repairs, so we sailed a lot and had lunch on the boat anchored off Misery Island. Thank you captains for helping us get back on the water. The boat, the crew and the area are exceptional. We highly recommend, whether you are from New England or visiting from afar, that you make reservations and see Salem for a different more relaxing perspective, on the water.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

The sailing experience on the When and If is one of the best things to do on the North Shore. The vessel is stunning and sleek; it moves through the water beautifully. The Captain and Crew are wonderful and point out the surrounding islands, and history of the area. If you want to really get out of town, be on the water and sip a glass of wine or cocktail (full bar onboard), highly recommend this adventure.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank torywithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

Sunset Sail, Salem is fast becoming my favorite thing to do in the Witch City. We took an amazing voyage around Salem Harbour on the When and If, General Patton's historic personal yacht. The crew os Sean, Gray and Kelly were hospitable, professional and wonderful. They were so good with our two year old toddler. He had a great time and so did we and we will most certainly sail again soon. By the way, Kelly makes a fine Dark and Stormy. Cheers!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank SteppingStoneInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews