We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Stepping Stone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stepping Stone Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We very much enjoyed our stay at Stepping Stone Inn. John was a wonderful host, gave great recommendations and was very helpful and accomodating to all our needs. The inn was kept immaculately clean and had wonderful charm in it's decoration. Our bathroom was private but outside of the room but was no problem with privacy as no other room opened to our hallway. The breakfast was indeed a continental breakfast as advertised but the coffee cake or banana bread while thinly cut was fresh, tasty and plenty in supply. You could have had multiple pieces without inconveniencing others. Fresh fruit was also served every morning in a variety of types from cantelope, strawberries, blueberries and fresh pineapple. Various cereals, milk, juice, tea and coffee were also provided.

You will not find shampoo or other amenities in the room or bathrooms, but in my experience that's fairly typical of many bed and breakfasts. Bath towels and soap were provided. We were also pleased with the free wireless internet provided in the rooms.

If you're in for a bit of a historic experience this inn was built in the 1800's and if your looking for a ghostly experience there was definitely a presence that historic buildings always seem to hold. No ghost stories per say that we found out but it definitely added to the charm.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappeningHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    42
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
37
117
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Stepping Stone Inn while on our way to view the fall foliage in upper New England. The Inn is a quaint house built in the mid 1800’s. John, the innkeeper was very courteous and helpful. He was very knowledgeable of the area and its history and offered many good suggestions. As the previous reviewer stated the décor of the inn kept in line with the Victorian age. The home and the furnishings were nice antiques. The breakfast was as other reviewers have mentioned not large, but it was adequate. It was from 8:30 – 10:00 with strawberries, cereal, banana bread, orange juice, and coffee.

The best drawing card for the Stepping Stone Inn is its location. The inn is located next door to the Salem Witches Museum and in walking distance to all the historic sites of Salem. There is free parking directly in front of the Inn. It is very nice to enjoy the area without the hassle of finding a parking place.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardFanDubG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at the Stepping Stone Inn in Salem in early October. This is a historic house from built in 1846. It's right next to the Salem Witch Museum and close to all the historic sites and walking tours. If you want to be close to everything and experience a bit of history, this is a perfectly quaint hotel. The innkeeper was knowledgeable and eager to suggest places to visit. The decor is in line with Victorian times so the furnishings are very antique. The breakfast was adequate but it wasn't a huge spread - just fruit, cereal, banana bread, juice and coffee. Those who want to experience history will enjoy the convenience of the location. Rumor has it that it might even be haunted!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank muzikchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

If you want a modern identikit hotel don't stay here. This place is old, wooden and, like it's owner, a little quirky. However, if you want to stay somewhere with a bit of (a) character you will find John to be one of the most knowledgeable and helpful hosts you will ever meet. Location-wise it's pretty much perfect and there's a couple of free parking spaces out front, there's lots more free parking across the street (round the Common) and if you want covered parking John will give you a (free) pass to the garage opposite the Visitor Centre which is 2 or 3 minutes walk away. The train (MBTA) station is also easily walkable and makes day trips to Boston very easy.

  • Liked — John, the host - friendly, knowledgeable, helpful.
  • Disliked — Our bathroom was quite small.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spot_Meter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I had a perfectly pleasant experience at this inn and I don't understand the complaints. My room was clean and pleasant, the bathroom was clean, it was quiet, the bed was comfortable, the price was OK, the innkeeper was friendly, and the location was fantastic. Parking was no problem because I was given a pass to the parking garage half a block away.

As another reviewer said, the TV was small but personally, I do not travel to watch TV. The shower was small but adequate. I guess the only significant negative would have been the rather low water pressure in the shower, but that's old houses for you. No big deal.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu42FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My husband and I reserved rooms at the Stepping Stone in back in October, 2007, and returned to the Salem/Boston area with my parents in May, 2008. We were so thrilled with the S.S. Inn and John, the owner, that we decided to stay there again on our most recent trip.

If you are seeking a luxurious room with a spa-like bathroom and all the amenities of an expensive hotel, then you won’t be happy here at the Stepping Stone Inn. If you enjoy historical landmarks that have been updated with the smallest revisions to suit today’s guests and provide a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere, then you found the perfect place! The Inn is cared for tremendously, and I for one am grateful that John did as little as possible to the house to update it from its pure historical character. The rooms are not too small with bathrooms suitable to the size, but they are indeed very clean as we would be one to take note considering we are tenacious when it comes to cleanliness as I will not tolerate dirt in hotel or inn rooms. We sincerely appreciate the fact that John has saved the house and has conducted the minimal restorations back to its natural, historical beauty considering most people prefer to make renovations for the sake of money rather than to preserve America’s history. Luxurious bathrooms and 5-star hotel amenities would contradict the atmosphere and meaning behind the Stepping Stone Inn’s genuine beauty and charm.

It is appropriately stated on the Stepping Stone Inn’s website that John owns a wonderful cat named Bridget, who is friendly and minds her own business, rarely interacting with guests. The continental breakfast, also stated on the website, consists of a variety of boxed cereal, fruit and home made bread baked the night before cut into proper, dainty slices, coffee, hot water for tea and juice. The juice glasses are the standard juice glass size and for the record, John asks repeatedly if you would like refills so there is a bottomless glass of OJ for breakfast!

The Stepping Stone Inn is very convenient and within proximity to walk to all of the attractions around Salem. The famous Witch Museum is right next door, and other museums and shops are right across the street or within minutes of a walking distance. John is knowledgeable and very willing to assist with directions, suggestions or telling stories about the town’s history.

We would like to thank John for another perfect, warm stay at the Stepping Stone in and look forward to returning for a third visit in the near future. Give Bridget a pat on the head for us!

Sincerely,

Hans and Rebecca Muller
Dublin, Ohio

  • Liked — The cleanliess, the friendly warm atmosphere, the food, the assistance and the location.
  • Disliked — There is NOTHING we dislike at all about John or the Inn!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSBM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin,WI
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

On the last leg of our week long trip to Maine we ended up at the Stepping Stone Inn in Salem, MA. It was at a time when the city was full up with witch wannabes. Because it was so near Halloween there were many things going on and not many rooms available in town. We were at a bar talking to a couple of gentlemen and they made some calls that had us ending up at the Stepping Stone BNB. Needless to say we were thankful for a place to stay but that's where the thankfullness ends. The owner had a cat, which my husband was allergic to. We were put upstairs in a room that had paperthin walls and not any insulation around the windows so it was very noisy. The bed was too big for the room so we had to get out on the same side or slide down to the end. Shower was like a closet. There was dust everywhere. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit,fruit bread, and dry cereal. Cost was $135. No amenities.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbk54923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,971 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Inn

Property: Stepping Stone Inn
Address: 19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stepping Stone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the very best location in Salem, the Stepping Stone Inn boasts six beautiful and newly-renovated guest rooms, each with private bath, iPhone charging alarm clocks, free wifi, free parking, fresh flowers and tasteful decor. We are right next door to the Salem Witch Museum and across the street from the Salem Common and the Hawthorne Hotel. Ditch the car and walk absolutely everywhere! Under brand new ownership, the Stepping Stone Inn warmly invites you to enjoy the spacious parlor and the cozy dining room with free 24-hour gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate service, which is the perfect ending to your lovely evening out in charming, historic Salem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stepping Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing