We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stepping Stone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stepping Stone Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Stepping Stone Inn last week, through Halloween. The Inn was great! It was within walking distance to everything. John, the inn keeper gave us passes to the Witch Museum right next door..which we really enjoyed.

We stayed in the attic room which was very spacious with two queen size beds and a sitting room with great skylight. John was a very helpful and pleasant host..he even helped us carry our bags up to the third floor.

This B&B is very clean and centrally located. I highly recommend it.

Doris

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
thank you so m uch for taking the time to write your Halloween experience and all the tings you got to do while here I thank you for your review and It was a pleasure to have you here and I hopefully I will see y ou again some time in the future. Have a good winter & good health thanks again John Stepping Stone Inn another season over time flyes by quickly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    41
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
109
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A nice inn to stay in to visit Salem, the location is perfect and places all attractions in the town easily walk able.... couple this with close free parking during the stay and its not only very good value but painless too. The owner John is very friendly and happily chats about the local town and he recommended a great restaurant to us during our stay. The rooms are clean and tidy and the breakfast was good and fresh, my only negative comment would be that the decorations are a bit tired, but this is a very minor point when it is all so clean. I would definitely return!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
David thank you for the time to write about your stay here in Salem and at My Inn I am thankful for your review and will work to improve things which will make your next stay perfect. I thank you again and hope to see you soon on your next stay in Salem. Have a good Halloween John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a "girls" visit to Salem for a couple of days and really loved our stay at this B&B! The innkeeper John is such a wonderful host and so friendly and helpful. The place is very clean, breakfast was continental, simple and delightful and the location of the inn is perfect - within walking distance to everything. Prices are very reasonable, especially when traveling there in October during prime time. He even gives free passes to the witch museum which is right next door. We all agreed we would recommend the place and stay again when visiting Salem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Edrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
just a qucik thank you for staying and your the best I really enjoyed your being here with me and it was a great time. I hope to see you soon and cannot tell you how much fun it was for lme to have you stay lhere with me, Hope to see you soonbe safe and have a good Halloween thanksagain John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Stepping Stone for a long weekend on September 28th...The Inn was fantastic! It was within walking distance of everything...Not to mention the place was immaculate and the owner John was great! I will definitely be visiting again!

Room Tip: Stay in the attic, it has two comfy queen sized beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoritaJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here October 3-6. What a wonderful stay we had! The location is perfect - within walking distance to everything. The rooms were clean and a nice breakfast was provided each morning. John is very helpful and a very pleasant host. We look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melliston13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I want to take the time to say thank you for the review. I always am great ful when you take the time to share your experience when In salem Thank you so much and as always look forward to seeing hopefully in the future Have a good day happy travels to you Your Host John W Brick Stepping STone INn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Stepping Stone for 4 nights during the first week of September and found it to be a wonderful stay. The Inn is centrally located, next to the Witch Museum and a five minute walk to the Peabody, so you do not need your car to get around Salem. It is very clean and well kept. John is a great host. It was my girlfriends first stay at a B&B and she greatly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Just a quick Hi and thank you for thaking the time to write about your stay here. And so happy that your friend who has never stayed in a B&B enjoyed. Look forward to seeing lyou again and you made my day so nice to have you and look forward to seeing you soon Thanks again John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I were driving south to spend an evening in Salem. When we saw the traffic heading north for Labor day we decided to change our plans and stay overnight in Salem. Found this inn by blind luck and fortunate that we did. It is centrally located in Salem and right next to the Witch Museum. It is a nice quaint property with a wonderful innkeeper that treated us like family. The room was nice, clean, and a continental breakfast was included. When we spend time in Salem again I will without a doubt stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
It really makes feel proud to have some take the time to say how there stay was at the Inn. I know busy people are so I thank you for your comment. I hope to see you soon and will continue to make all guests happy and at home when they stay with me. I again say thank you and see you soon John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
0.4 mi away
Salem Inn
Salem Inn
#6 of 9 in Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Inn

Property: Stepping Stone Inn
Address: 19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stepping Stone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the very best location in Salem, the Stepping Stone Inn boasts six beautiful and newly-renovated guest rooms, each with private bath, iPhone charging alarm clocks, free wifi, free parking, fresh flowers and tasteful decor. We are right next door to the Salem Witch Museum and across the street from the Salem Common and the Hawthorne Hotel. Ditch the car and walk absolutely everywhere! Under brand new ownership, the Stepping Stone Inn warmly invites you to enjoy the spacious parlor and the cozy dining room with free 24-hour gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate service, which is the perfect ending to your lovely evening out in charming, historic Salem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stepping Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing