We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Unexpected Stay”
Review of Stepping Stone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stepping Stone Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Wonderful Unexpected Stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I were driving south to spend an evening in Salem. When we saw the traffic heading north for Labor day we decided to change our plans and stay overnight in Salem. Found this inn by blind luck and fortunate that we did. It is centrally located in Salem and right next to the Witch Museum. It is a nice quaint property with a wonderful innkeeper that treated us like family. The room was nice, clean, and a continental breakfast was included. When we spend time in Salem again I will without a doubt stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
It really makes feel proud to have some take the time to say how there stay was at the Inn. I know busy people are so I thank you for your comment. I hope to see you soon and will continue to make all guests happy and at home when they stay with me. I again say thank you and see you soon John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    42
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
117
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Location is excellent and John is a good host. Just remember to bring shampoo as it's not provided. We also received complementary tix to the Witch Museum next door. There's also some very nice places to shop within 5 min walk. Overall an enjoyable town and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfromcchinatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I usually stay with friends when I visit Salem. This time, I decided to stay at a B&B. I chose The Stepping Stone because it was centrally located. The house is across from the Commons. It was clean and inviting. The furnishings were beautiful. John was a gracious host. He was very helpful and imformative in every way. Breakfast was minimal, but, enough to get you started. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in the room 2nd floor front. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was that my bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Aspecial thanks for taking the time to write a review. I know how busy every one can be so I always say thanks and hope to see you again in the future I will make sure you have a room with a bath in the room. Have a good day John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice owner of the inn, great location in the town center of salem. Clean and beautiful rooms. We loved it. The parking in the nearby parking was included, as well as a visit of the witch museum, located in the same street as the inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrick111, Owner at Stepping Stone Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write about lyour stay here at the stepping stone Inn. Always happy to hear your stay went well and know how much it means to have people take the time to write about your experience here in Salem an staying with me. I try all the time to have everone enjoy their stay and work to keep the home in the condition people expect. Have a god day and enjoy your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in the Hawthorne room at the Stepping Stone Inn. She is a writer and enjoyed the ambiance of an older B&B. The room was nice and the whole experience reminded me of staying at my Grandmother's house right down to the same Fine China. John is a wonderful host who will spend time with you discussing Salem, old homes, renovations... whatever you wish. He keeps an immaculate B&B and his personality makes the stay. In addition, he has of street parking, which in Salem is a type of commodity, and he graciously gives you passes to the Witch museum next door. Centrally located the Stepping Stone Inn is a nice place to stay in Salem. Keep in mind, the home was built in the mid 1800's so if you don't expect 5 star accomodations you will be well suited at the Stepping Stone Inn.

Room Tip: Tell John what you are looking for, he will go out of his way to find you the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyj0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our first time B&B stay, and we had a great 3 days in Salem. John the owner was very accommodating and knowledgable. He is a nice & his house felt completely safe, comfortable and very clean. There is a sink and mirror in the bed room and a bathroom with toilet and small shower in your room, which is nice that you can lock your door to your room. The house is right next to the Salem Witch Museum& right in the middle of town. The sites are connected by a red painted line, so you can walk from place to place with out getting lost. The stepping stone in is right on the walking path. I would definitely recommend paying to take the Salem Trolley first, they do two different loops of the town and you get to see the layout of where things are at, get quite a bit of history, and get to some places that would be quite a bit of a walk. Couldn't really talk about the breakfast because we got up early to get started, but there is plenty of great places to eat in town. Some of the resteraunts can be really pricy, we had great luck at Red's Sandwich Shop which is really economical and has great breakfast and lunches, not sure how late they are opened. The Sea Port Cafe has excellent food: sandwiches, burgers, soups, and salads. Had dessert at Witches Brew Cafe. For sightseeing, know that most places open at 10 and close at 5 p.m., so plan accordingly. The old burying point cemetery is right next to the witch memorial benches. Other attractions we enjoyed: the house of the seven gables and the old candy company across the street. Our favorite shop was the Crafter's Market on Pickering Wharf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was looking for a charming and romantic place to spend the weekend with my wife. I am happy to say I found it at the Stepping Stone Inn. Not only was the room comfortable, clean, and cozy, but the Inn keeper, a Mr.John Brick, was very personable and helpful - an excellent host with a wealth of information on local clubs and nightlife. One of the most interesting local sites is the Inn itself which was once the home of a naval officer and still has the "widow's lookout" on the roof of the Inn. We had a great time and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,951 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.0 mi away
Wylie Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Inn

Property: Stepping Stone Inn
Address: 19 Washington Square North, Salem, MA 01970
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stepping Stone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the very best location in Salem, the Stepping Stone Inn boasts six beautiful and newly-renovated guest rooms, each with private bath, iPhone charging alarm clocks, free wifi, free parking, fresh flowers and tasteful decor. We are right next door to the Salem Witch Museum and across the street from the Salem Common and the Hawthorne Hotel. Ditch the car and walk absolutely everywhere! Under brand new ownership, the Stepping Stone Inn warmly invites you to enjoy the spacious parlor and the cozy dining room with free 24-hour gourmet coffee, tea and hot chocolate service, which is the perfect ending to your lovely evening out in charming, historic Salem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Stepping Stone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing