We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, charming, fascinating place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stephen Daniels House
Ranked #8 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a mini-vacation last week - one night in Concord, two nights in Salem. After thoroughly researching B&Bs in Salem, this one was my #1 pick for its history and authenticity. It did not disappoint in the least!

The B&B is like an interactive museum -- which is more fun than it sounds! Kay, the owner, is an avid antiques collector and, after hearing her talk about her wonderful collection, she even (inadvertantly) got my boyfriend and I spending more hours than planned in the area antique shops! Kay herself is quite a character, loves to chat, but will respect your own schedule at the same time.

Other great things about the place:
-Robin, who does a fantastic job with the day-to-day of the B&B (Kay is rather elderly now). Don't forget to tip when you leave!
-SO close to the shore, Pickering Wharf, museums, Salem Common, the historic district... me and b/f didn't drive anywhere the whole time we were in Salem.
-The peaceful patio in the back. Surrounded by flowers, trees, and shrubbery, you're still in the middle of town. It's very special.
-The friendly and adorable cat, Sabrina.
-Free, off-street parking. When it was time for us to leave the room, we still had a few hours to wander around before leaving Salem, so Kay lent us a parking tag for the car so we could park on the street for free!

We were truly sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 164 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a unique opportunity to stay in a house, the original part of which was built in 1667, that has not been extensively remodelled or recreated as a 'visitor experience'. If you really want to get a feeling for how a Sea Captain lived in 17th Century Salem then you must stay here! Take the time to have a tour of the house - a warren of interconnecting rooms containing a cornucopia of antiques that the owner, Kay, has spent her life collecting.

Breakfast was served in the dining room with a roaring fire - a delicious selection of fresh fruit and hot muffins and strong coffee - whilst Kay regaled us with hilarious and fascinating stories. She is wonderful, mischievous lady with a keen sense of humour and it was worth visiting Salem just to meet her!

Thank you to both Kay and Robin for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipperD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My aunt and I stayed here for our two nights in Salem, and I have to say it was fantastic! First of all, if anyone even has the slightest bit of negativity to post about their stay, they're nuts! I would love to know how a review is possible when someone didn't even give it a 5 minute chance. I felt right at home while I was here; Kay greeted us when we arrived, she gave us a lesson on the history about the house, and she directed us to our rooms. This is the most sanitary place I have ever stayed in, ever! The breakfast was delicious! Homemade muffins, fresh fruit, Brie cheese, fresh hot coffee, and orange juice; Robin worked hard to make sure breakfast was wonderful too! I loved that Kay and Robin sat down with us and talked while we enjoyed our breakfast, and told us more about the house and all the things to do in Salem. My aunt and I even joined Kay later in the day and we talked all about Salem in one of her sitting rooms; we had a blast! Kay is a very cool lady to chat with; I really liked her! Robin gave us a tour of the house, and we got to see all the other rooms we didn't even know existed. This house was like a giant maze with hidden rooms, and a ton of floors! Very interesting! We had a wonderful stay here and we would definitely stay here again! Thanks Kay, and Robin, and I can't forget about Sabrina the cat! You made our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guerinchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I'm sorry it took me so long to write a review about my stay. Well here goes. I needed a place to stay for one night(a friday, no less). I didn't think anyplace would say it was ok. When I called the Stephen Daniels House, and spoke to Kay, she told me that she had an opening for that evening. When I got there, I was greeted by Kay. She gave me a tour and a some history about the house. Then, she showed me to my room. The room was lovely, but, it had a shared bathroom. I don't feel comfortable with that. But, seeing that I was the only one there that night, it didn't matter. The antiques and the history of the house was so interesting. Kay was a delight to listen to. I met Robin, who was an absolute delight. On Saturday morning I sat down to breakfast, and Kay sat with me. I was meeting my friend at around 10:00, but, would have loved to sit a while and listen to Kays many stories. I will definitely stay here again. But, I would request the room with the private bathroom. (I didn't know about it until I read a previously listed review). You won't be dissappointed if you stay at the Stephen Daniels House!! Chuck from CT.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin m, Manager at Stephen Daniels House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi Thank You so much for your wonderful review, we enjoyed having you here at the Daniels House and look forward to your return. I just want to correct you if you don't mind, all the rooms have their very own private bathrooms, no bathrooms are shared between the guest. Maybe the way Kay explained it you got confused. No worries, again thank you for taking the time to give a great review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you're coming to check out Salem, chances are you dig that historical New England charm. To complete the experience, stay at the Stephen Daniels house- straight out of the 1600's and in your face! We loved it! So much to look at-antiques everywhere. The bathroom fixtures were totally updated (thank goodness), but besides that, it was very much like spending the weekend at your great, great grandmothers house. If you're looking for a bland, sterile Holiday Inn experience, this is not for you. But if you like your accommodations to have personality, quirk, and a real sense of history, please book a room here! we were the only guests fir the weekend, so we had Kay and Robin all to ourselves. Fresh baked muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, and wonderful conversations each morning. I would definitely stay here a 2nd and 3rd time!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank zarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stopped in here, looking for a charming B&B for the night. We took a short tour of the house, and could not get out quickly enough. The innkeeper was rude, and while walking through the house, we could feel very negative and scary energy...like someone was watching us/following us. All of the décor and furnishings are musty and dusty, and each room is filled with creepy dolls and toys. We didn't stay the night; we could barely handle 5 minutes!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Stephen Daniels house is a step back into colonial time. The house was built in the late 1600s with the other part built in the 1700s, we stayed in the great room, which includes a fireplace and is a massive room. Kay and Robin are great hosts, we had great conversation in the morning. Breakfast is very basic, muffins and coffee which is strong. Some of the muffins were cold in the middle, but I didn't really care much as we were most likely going to eat for lunch somewhere in the area. We were greeted each night by Sabrina, Kay's adorable cat. The house is huge, and there are rooms everywhere. It is filled with antiques and knick-knacks and each one has a story. Also in a lot of drawers of things, people leave little sayings which is a cute charm. Exploring through the house, I discovered the Acorn room, which is stunning. A gripe I have is a $15 charge for getting the fire started inside the rooms. Kind of an inconvenience for the traveler on those colder nights. They do have a drive way although it's hectic getting in and out of it, because the street is so narrow, and parked cars crowd the tiny street, which is expected in Salem. I loved the morning conversations with Kay and Robin and would love to see them again in the future. I do like the fact its pet friendly, when I travel for a few days I end up missing my dog and would love to bring him to meet Kay.

Room Tip: I like the great room, Acorn room on the third level is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricVolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Salem
The Hotel Salem
#3 of 3 in Salem
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
5.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 9 in Danvers
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stephen Daniels House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stephen Daniels House

Address: 1 Daniels St, Salem, MA 01970-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: $120 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home was converted to a restaurant and inn in 1945 by the Hallers. Current owner Catherine Gill, affectionately known as Kay, purchased the inn in 1962 and has proudly served as innkeeper and caretaker during 49 years . Making us Salem's oldest running Bed&Breakfast! Upon entering the home one is immediately enthralled by the sheer number of antiques and collectibles that cover most every conceivable nook and cranny. Antique pottery next to historic English puppets, laced with cross-stitch art works, majestic portraits, antique toys and so much more. A life time of Kay's world travels and collecting. It is an eclectic feast for the senses. The home itself is a living museum where guests can take a step back in time as they touch and see, feel and explore and get a true sense of the history and romance that abounds throughout the entire home. Our goal is focused on providing you with an enjoyable and memorable experience and not merely a comfortable place to relax and rest your head. We may not be Salem's most modern inn but we are the most unique! Our suites are furnished with period four poster canopy beds and decorated with genuine antiques. There are no velvet ropes here! If history and ambiance is what you seek than the Daniels House is the place to stay. Come and meet your hosts Kay Gill and Robin McDonald. Enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast of fresh baked muffins, juice, cereals, coffee, teas and pleasant conversation. Child and pet friendly. Thank you for visiting and hope to meet you at the Inn.Owner and operator for over 49 years Kay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stephen Daniels House Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing